Moving to C2 from GameMaker

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Fri Dec 02, 2011 7:32 pm

I was using GameMaker Standard 8.0 for a time,and i bought the license for 7.0 and was thinking that it's permanent
But when They've moved to 8.1,I wasn't available to get standard version :/
So it was the last thing that made me think about changing.
Their community&documentation may be somehow better,but i see that Scirra's developers are more friendly aand updates are more frequent(although since 8.1,YoyoGames are making quickUpdates too) :)
But i think i need help getting some basics...if there's any reference for "How to move from GM to C2" or sth like this that i skipped,sorry :/
PS:Sorry for bad english

UPDATE:I've registered just now and i see 102 rep,why so? :)ubicray2011-12-02 19:33:54
B
3
G
1
Posts: 3
Reputation: 481

Post » Fri Dec 02, 2011 7:41 pm

Welcome! You might want to check this page about importing GM rooms to C2: http://www.scirra.com/tutorials/63/importing-gamemaker-rooms-and-objects-to-construct-2-free-edition/page-1

There's also the beginner's guide to C2: :http://www.scirra.com/tutorials/37/beginners-guide-to-construct-2

And the manual: http://www.scirra.com/manual/1/construct-2

Also, it's 100 base rep, 2 per post.Arima2011-12-02 19:49:52
Moderator
B
88
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,432

Post » Fri Dec 02, 2011 7:43 pm

Thanks :)
It'll help :)
Erm...i didn't expect so quick response,this is gr8 :D
EDIT:Arima,then why you have 4.801 rep?shouldn't it be 4802 or 4800? O.oubicray2011-12-02 19:44:37
B
3
G
1
Posts: 3
Reputation: 481

Post » Fri Dec 02, 2011 7:48 pm

There are lots of ways to get rep, and some of those ways give 1 rep, like some badges and upvoting comments.
Moderator
B
88
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,432

Post » Fri Dec 02, 2011 7:51 pm

Ok thanks'a'lot...I think I'll stick around some time with beginner's guide...and if I'll manage to do sth,I'll buy C2 :)
B
3
G
1
Posts: 3
Reputation: 481

Post » Fri Dec 02, 2011 8:05 pm

@ubicray

Welcome. Don't forget (as many do, for some reason) that there a many different examples installed with Construct 2 that will hopefully get you up and running quite quickly.

Good luck.

zen
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
120
S
28
G
68
Posts: 4,849
Reputation: 48,299

Post » Fri Dec 02, 2011 8:46 pm

Welcome...I believe that C2 better than GM in many ways, but I guess it's up to you wether that's true or not.
B
10
S
1
G
2
Posts: 47
Reputation: 1,615

Post » Fri Dec 02, 2011 11:50 pm

Hello from Scirra!
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Sat Dec 03, 2011 2:47 am

Welcome to C2 and the forums, ubicray. I also came from a long time using Game Maker (under a different user name), and I can say that C2 and the Scirra community offer a much different experience.

I'm not dogging on GM or the GM community. They have their own strengths and weaknesses. I just think you will find C2 and this community refreshing and to be a much different experience.
Don't see the fnords and they won't eat you!
B
75
S
16
G
12
Posts: 322
Reputation: 11,608

Post » Sat Dec 03, 2011 10:14 am

I'am using Gamemaker 8.0/ 8.1 and the new HTML edition. Using C2 since a short period. C2 is much more stable but the possibillty of GM of using inherritance is very power full. C2 is faster and much more stable. So im using C2 more and more. This is a fantastic enginen en much cheaper.
I will use GM HTML for sure, because of his great flexibillity and C2 for sure for the perfect functionality. regards.
B
31
S
8
G
6
Posts: 29
Reputation: 6,718

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: zenox98 and 17 guests