Multiplayer Auto-join Issue

Report Construct 2 bugs here.

Post » Sat Jan 02, 2016 3:28 pm

Problem Description
When you use Auto-join action of Multiplayer object, and you lock a room when it's full, there is a problem. When a room reaches its maximum peer number, it locks. BUT if then somebody from the room quits, it's not unlocked. For example, if maximum peer number in room is 4, and after it is locked, when somebody quits, the room with 3 peers is still locked.

Attach a Capx

Description of Capx
When you run the Capx file, it auto-joins a room. You should run several preview pages to test the bug.

Steps to Reproduce Bug
  • Run 3 preview pages
  • Close one of them (but not the one you opened first)
  • Run another preview page

Observed Result
The last preview page joins the "ExampleBugR2" room, although "ExampleBugR" is not full.

Expected Result
"ExampleBugR" should be unlocked and new pages should be able to join this room.

Affected Browsers
  • Chrome: YES
  • FireFox: YES

Operating System
Windows 10

Construct 2 Version ID
Construct 2 r216
B
29
S
14
G
6
Posts: 160
Reputation: 5,752

Post » Thu Jan 07, 2016 1:20 pm

This is currently by design. I will leave this report open as a feature request.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
233
G
88
Posts: 24,376
Reputation: 193,842

Post » Thu Jan 07, 2016 4:03 pm

If it is by design, please make an option to change that.
B
29
S
14
G
6
Posts: 160
Reputation: 5,752

Post » Tue Jan 19, 2016 5:48 pm

Heartily seconded!

Lobby systems can't be implemented without the rooms unlocking as players drop out and re-locking as the max player count is reached.
B
21
S
5
G
3
Posts: 66
Reputation: 2,848

Post » Wed Mar 16, 2016 3:55 pm

@Lasmelan @Ashley Good morning — was there a resolution to this? I'm trying to build a workaround for my lobby system, but it would be much easier if rooms unlocked and locked as the max peercount was reached (or on command). Thanks very much!
B
21
S
5
G
3
Posts: 66
Reputation: 2,848

Post » Wed Mar 16, 2016 4:10 pm

@brushfe you can make autojoin manually and set it to your likings.
B
23
S
5
G
4
Posts: 142
Reputation: 3,262

Post » Wed Mar 16, 2016 7:17 pm

@brushfe I haven't heard of any solution to the problem yet. Automatically unlocking rooms which aren't full or having actions "Lock room / Unlock room" would really help.
B
29
S
14
G
6
Posts: 160
Reputation: 5,752

Post » Thu Mar 17, 2016 4:01 pm

@lasmelan ok cool, thanks!

This weekend I want to try using On Room List to fetch the lobbies manually, and compare ListRoomPeerCount against ListRoomMaxPeerCount to see if there's room. If so, manually join the room (and never use auto-join or worry about "locked" states).

After reading the manual it's the only way around it I can see so far. If it works out i'll let you know!
B
21
S
5
G
3
Posts: 66
Reputation: 2,848


Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests