Multiplayer success impossible?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Oct 02, 2015 12:53 pm

@johnsrd01

why is this topic in "how do i ...?" section?
B
31
S
13
G
2
Posts: 749
Reputation: 5,533

Post » Fri Oct 02, 2015 7:04 pm

lennaert wrote:
johnsrd01 wrote:
Tekniko wrote:I think you are asking for solutions to problems that you wont have. You do not need to open 2,000 browser tabs. If a room is full or not found, that player becomes the host of a new room. The players are the hosts, not you.


Yes, but if I want to make sure that connection quality is good and consistent, especially with 100 players/room, I need dedicated hosting.



It would mean that ALL connections run through the server .... and its bandwidth usage ....
You would require a hosting service with unlimited bandwidth usage.

Also .... max web RTC connections per browser is 256, that is for a single browser instance. So that browser is only able to connect with max 256 players in 1 room at any given time.

That would mean for each 256 users connected to a single room ... you would require another browser instance with its own opened WebSocket.

Each websocket you open will weigh down on performance of the server.


Also, if you manage to get a game running with 256 peers connected ... without problems ... well, I would praise you a lot :)



The C2 multiplayer hosting scenario based on a peer being the host is actually quite intuitive ...and eliminates tons of server connection problems relating to high volume usage.


Thanks for the input.

I've learned a few things about the topic since I last wrote, including the 256-connection limit.

Okay, let's forget about 100 players/room. Let's have 10. Is there a reliable way to make sure that the host has good enough Internet connection? Maybe switch hosts if the current one is having difficulties... I still think consistent connection quality is important.
B
10
S
3
Posts: 28
Reputation: 756

Post » Fri Oct 02, 2015 7:07 pm

irina wrote:@johnsrd01

why is this topic in "how do i ...?" section?


It started with a question about dynamic room creation.. "How do I" do that. I tried giving it an attention-grabbing title.

I could've put it in general, but I don't think it's that unfitting here.
B
10
S
3
Posts: 28
Reputation: 756

Post » Fri Oct 02, 2015 7:17 pm

johnsrd01 wrote:
Okay, let's forget about 100 players/room. Let's have 10. Is there a reliable way to make sure that the host has good enough Internet connection? Maybe switch hosts if the current one is having difficulties... I still think consistent connection quality is important.



You can aid in narrowing down problematic connections.
For instance, before entering a lobby to select a game to join, perhaps have the users select a world region first.
Like Europe, Asia, North America etc ...
Making players join games with players in their region of the world, or even country if you take it one step further.

The thing is, each peer, whether its the host or a peer, as soon as something is happening that is interfering with their connection a lot, you can get lag. Ofc when this happens to a host it could effect all peers ... but the concept is the same for that user.
He or she would be experiencing lag issues.

The best way is to design your communication mechanics smart.
Synch as few objects and variables as possible and use a messages for commands etc.

The less bandwith/communication is required, the better it could obviously perform.



A great thing about the scirra multiplayer, would a host drop out ... making another peer become host is very easy.

You could even event some checks during a round, checking latencies, and if the hosts is far worse then one of the peers, make that peer the host.
Who dares wins
B
57
S
17
G
21
Posts: 1,878
Reputation: 19,592

Previous

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: LunaticCat and 8 guests