Multiple gamewindows/monitors?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Mon Dec 14, 2015 2:10 am

I was thinking it'd be nice to add some amount of support for using multiple monitors but I'm not sure how I should go about it.
Mainly I want to show various stats and such that would otherwise take too much space to be shown all the time in another window.

Just running the game again on another tab and using local storage to save relevant stuff seems to work but having the game loaded twice(or more) probably isn't very good for performance.
Doing another project that has only the things I want on a 2nd screen would probably be better but I have no idea how I could get them to communicate the stats I want between them since I assume I can't use local storage values of another project.

Are there any other ways it could work?
B
17
S
6
G
1
Posts: 41
Reputation: 1,725

Post » Mon Dec 14, 2015 8:27 am

I guess it depends on how much data you need to share. I think there is a plugin for the clipboard which might help. Might be faster than saving and loading files between the two programs. Just a thought.
B
48
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,098
Reputation: 11,197

Post » Tue Dec 15, 2015 9:55 pm

Why not just have a stat text/sprite that only becomes non-opaque when you mouse over it (or some other innocuous action)?

Otherwise, you get to write a custom plugin using http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1636 ... dow-pop-up
or
http://www.ian-devries.com/multiscreenjs/
https://www.ravenheart.ca/home
I don't check the forums much anymore, but I will receive an email for PMs.

"Someone once told me I bite off more than I can chew...

I told them I would rather choke on greatness than nibble on mediocrity."
B
22
S
6
G
1
Posts: 1,418
Reputation: 4,830


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: adventurist, Artcadev, brunopalermo, PROxMTswatTR and 22 guests