Multiple Layers drops the FPS.

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Nov 12, 2015 5:20 pm

I'm not seeing an difference. Tested in Firefox 42.0, IE 11 and latest NW.js - 60 fps.

Tried running in Debug and also added a text box set to show FPS. Sorry- just not getting any problem.

Can anyone else please try this and report back please.

What OS/browser/GPU have you got?
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
136
S
31
G
86
Posts: 5,481
Reputation: 59,748

Post » Thu Nov 12, 2015 5:56 pm

zenox98 wrote:@SIDZZERO

Ok. Got your project but what am I meant to be seeing?

I've added multiple Layers to each Layout (up to 10) and I'm not seeing any difference in FPS when running in Debug.

What am I meant to do to re-create your problem?

Maybe it may be easier if you post your project that has the FPS drop already.


Hi Zenox98,


Here is a detail description,
Layout 1-It has 5 sprites in different 4 different layers.This layout has totally 4 layers.
Layout 2-It has 5 sprites in the same layer.And this layout has totally only one layer.


My issues is when we ,
-Select layout 1 and Play in debug mode the FPS is very low(<=30fps).
-Select layout 2 and Play in debug mode the FPS is proper here(50 fps).

My doubt is why is the FPS dropping,when I add these sprites in different layers.And when I add them in the
same layer the FPS is normal.



P.S-My issues sounds kinda similar to the other post from matrixguy,maybe not sure.
B
6
Posts: 14
Reputation: 280

Post » Thu Nov 12, 2015 6:03 pm

@SIDZZERO

In that case, my post stands. I'm just not seeing any problem. We're going to need more testers.

What OS/GPU/browser are you using?
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
136
S
31
G
86
Posts: 5,481
Reputation: 59,748

Post » Thu Nov 12, 2015 6:26 pm

Tested on Firefox, NW.js and Chrome. Constant 60 FPS.
@SIDZZERO Have you tried switching form the Inspect tab on the debugger to another tab? Sometimes the Inspect tab gives a false FPS reading.
B
13
S
5
G
1
Posts: 116
Reputation: 1,805

Post » Thu Nov 12, 2015 6:30 pm

I thought I'd give it a test too just for more results.

With the layer: 60 fps, 11% cpu
Withou the layer: 60fps, 3% cpu

And adding more layers can slow it to a crawl.

The problem, however, is the actual debugger. Switch over to the "Watch" tab in the debugger instead of "Inspect". I can have 30 layers added onto your project and not exceed 1% CPU use. The Inspect tab keeps track of a lot of stuff. It's meant for really detailed display of everything going on under the hood, whereas Watch is a bit closer to an actual gameplay environment. I use Inspect to pick the variables and values I want to watch (with the eyeball) and then just check that stuff in Watch so not everything needs to be accounted for.

Fore reference, Core i7-4770 @ 3.4 GHz, NVidia GT 640 4GB, 32 GB Ram. This was Chrome on Windows 10.
B
103
S
38
G
19
Posts: 962
Reputation: 17,996

Post » Thu Nov 12, 2015 6:35 pm

Have a look in the debugger and see whether the game is being rendered using webgl or canvas2d... It sounds like you are not getting hardware acceleration
A big fan of JavaScript.
B
76
S
20
G
73
Posts: 2,241
Reputation: 45,956

Post » Fri Nov 13, 2015 4:17 am

C-7 wrote:I thought I'd give it a test too just for more results.

With the layer: 60 fps, 11% cpu
Withou the layer: 60fps, 3% cpu

And adding more layers can slow it to a crawl.

The problem, however, is the actual debugger. Switch over to the "Watch" tab in the debugger instead of "Inspect". I can have 30 layers added onto your project and not exceed 1% CPU use. The Inspect tab keeps track of a lot of stuff. It's meant for really detailed display of everything going on under the hood, whereas Watch is a bit closer to an actual gameplay environment. I use Inspect to pick the variables and values I want to watch (with the eyeball) and then just check that stuff in Watch so not everything needs to be accounted for.

Fore reference, Core i7-4770 @ 3.4 GHz, NVidia GT 640 4GB, 32 GB Ram. This was Chrome on Windows 10.


Hi,
I am using the free version, so checking in watch-tab is not possible.I will try it once I get it full version. So if its true,is it because of an issue in the debugger then.?
I am attaching a screenshot of the debugger report.
Link-h t t p s : / / w w w .dropbox.com/s/9g55o1lpghsfk8g/Report.PNG?dl=0
@Zenox98,

Here are my specs,

MY specs are Win7,CORE i5 2500K @3.30Ghz,8 GB RAM,Nvidia GTX 560
B
6
Posts: 14
Reputation: 280

Post » Fri Nov 13, 2015 4:50 am

Image

You can't click on Watch right there next to Inspect in the free version? Regardless, just make a text object that is updated to show fps and cpu utilization (both are system values) and skip the debugger all together. That will give you more realistic data. My game regularly uses 20+ layers, multiples of them with opacity/shaders/force own texture, all of the layers have a lot of images, and my performance is fine outside of the Inspect tab of the debugger (understandably so).
B
103
S
38
G
19
Posts: 962
Reputation: 17,996

Post » Fri Nov 13, 2015 5:04 am

C-7 wrote:Image

You can't click on Watch right there next to Inspect in the free version? Regardless, just make a text object that is updated to show fps and cpu utilization (both are system values) and skip the debugger all together. That will give you more realistic data. My game regularly uses 20+ layers, multiples of them with opacity/shaders/force own texture, all of the layers have a lot of images, and my performance is fine outside of the Inspect tab of the debugger (understandably so).


Hi,
Yup no WATCH in free version.I tried displaying using text and I am getting the same result.Now I am having a doubt ,whether I have to change some setting some where or missed something at basic level.But others who tried this project have told be its works great.I tried this on two systems both the same result.The other PC spec is an intel machine with onboard graphic card while the first system spec is posted above.

Like i suggested before can someone replicate the same project on their system and send me?Like few sprites over different layers and I can test and cross verify.

Here is the link to the screenshot-h t t p s : / / w w w .dropbox.com/s/qtebzu8y4jxo5vh/report2.PNG?dl=0
B
6
Posts: 14
Reputation: 280

Post » Fri Nov 13, 2015 6:47 am

I circled it in your screenshot... Image surely that does something. And I meant to run a regular preview with the text object showing you the actual numbers--don't run it in debug or of course you'll get the same numbers! There is nothing going wrong in your project. Either click on the Watch button I circled when you're viewing it in debug, or just preview it with the regular preview (F5 shortcut) and use your text object to show you your performance numbers.
B
103
S
38
G
19
Posts: 962
Reputation: 17,996

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests