my game is ruined

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Sun Feb 22, 2009 5:26 pm

I had made a 4-layout game, with 2 additional event sheets.

Just now, I made a new event sheet and saved. Somehow, after I added an action to this event sheet, it replaced all my other remaining event sheets, ruining my entire game.

I have no backup of it, as I assumed it was toggled on by default like in MMF2. I do have, however, an exectuable of my game before it messed up.

Help
B
2
G
3
Posts: 20
Reputation: 890

Post » Sun Feb 22, 2009 5:31 pm

may I add how incredibly pissed I am
B
2
G
3
Posts: 20
Reputation: 890

Post » Sun Feb 22, 2009 5:33 pm

i can only imagine.

didnt you save incremental backups? just revert, if you didnt thats a very bad practice, remember construct isnt bug free yet.
B
52
S
7
G
6
Posts: 1,945
Reputation: 7,610

Post » Sun Feb 22, 2009 5:36 pm

[quote="QuaziGNRLnose":13irkz7d]didnt you save incremental backups? just revert, if you didnt thats a very bad practice, remember construct isnt bug free yet.[/quote:13irkz7d]
I edited my post just a minute before you posted. I have no backup. All I have is the messed up source file, and a working executable. I was hoping it would be, somehow, possible to reverse-engineer the executable.
B
2
G
3
Posts: 20
Reputation: 890

Post » Sun Feb 22, 2009 5:53 pm

Show us the cap, please?
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Sun Feb 22, 2009 5:55 pm

This happens to me ALL the time. Luckily I back my files up more than is necessary or reasonable.

I've wanted to bug report this for like a month now but I can't reproduce the error reliably at all. D:
B
2
S
2
G
4
Posts: 136
Reputation: 1,722

Post » Sun Feb 22, 2009 5:59 pm

[quote="Mipey":3laypu4x]Show us the cap, please?[/quote:3laypu4x]
Here it is.
The script "Achievements" is the one that replaced "Layout 4 Events" and "Game_Engine".
B
2
G
3
Posts: 20
Reputation: 890

Post » Sun Feb 22, 2009 6:06 pm

Wow damn that sucks... all I can say is, you won't do that again.

Sorry I wish there was something I could do apart from warn you against not making incremental saves in the future. Bad luck mate, I know how you feel... I think it's happened to all of us at some point or another. :(

~Sol
Tired of crappy file hosts that are crappy? Get DROPBOX - https://db.tt/uwjysXJF
Moderator
B
45
S
17
G
37
Posts: 2,853
Reputation: 25,966

Post » Sun Feb 22, 2009 6:09 pm

Effect Outline 2.fx is required to open the cap :s
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Sun Feb 22, 2009 6:10 pm

I guess you learned the hard way about the importance of backups, especially when using a beta product. I know it sucks, and I do feel your pain because I've lost stuff too.

But... when I'm working on things now I make VERY frequent backups. This Cursed Rock had almost 100 backups. Platform School currently has 50. It might seem like overkill, but if I lose any work then I only have to go back a couple of hours, rather than start all over again.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Next

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests