My ongoing list

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Wed Apr 01, 2009 5:47 pm

Can't you make it global?
B
2
S
2
G
3
Posts: 158
Reputation: 1,566

Post » Wed Apr 01, 2009 6:05 pm

Why not just make the function global then you dont need it in every layout.
B
5
S
2
G
4
Posts: 632
Reputation: 2,829

Post » Thu Apr 02, 2009 7:09 am

[quote="Aeal5566":29sha13d]Why not just make the function global then you dont need it in every layout.[/quote:29sha13d]

That's what I am doing. What made you think that I set them to local?

Edit: Ah, I see, what I wrote was kinda stupid. What I meant was that I need to use function events coupled together with another event now for timed events all the time, which makes things a little more cluttered. If the 'execute it for 400 ms, then set back to what it was before' condition was in there, it'd be simpler.
B
6
S
2
G
3
Posts: 520
Reputation: 2,690

Post » Wed Apr 15, 2009 1:00 pm

39) Aeal already asked for this yesterday on the chat, but so that it won't be forgotten:

Layout Variables would be awesome. I want to set certain variables that only get triggered on a certain layout - that'd really help making the layouts come to life with events without having to clutter the whole project with tons of global variables.

In general, I think for bigger games we sorta have the problem that global variables aren't really all that organized in the system right now. It's just a huge fucking list. It'd probably be cool if we could create a higher level organizational layer to the global variables, like folders. Create a system folder with its set of variables, a combat folder with it's set of variables, etc. - that we could then trigger through actions. For a typical adventure where you'd have tons and tons and tons and tons of global variables otherwise, this would really help keeping things nice and tidy.

Aaaand:

40) Being able to give objects a 'Trigger only once' attribute. Like, in a runtime, there are various things I'd only EVER want to do ONE single time throughout the whole game and not repeat it once I re-enter the layout. That's a bit of a bitch to do right now, cause I'd always have to set variables and use them as conditions or I'd have to come up with some other clever idea like using hash tables or whatever and that's still sorta crappy in terms of organization.

If we'd have an adventure game where you could set an event to only happen once EVER, it'd make things a lot simpler.
B
6
S
2
G
3
Posts: 520
Reputation: 2,690

Post » Wed Apr 15, 2009 2:59 pm

[quote="thomasmahler":3pv7dkl2]40) Being able to give objects a 'Trigger only once' attribute. Like, in a runtime, there are various things I'd only EVER want to do ONE single time throughout the whole game and not repeat it once I re-enter the layout. That's a bit of a bitch to do right now, cause I'd always have to set variables and use them as conditions or I'd have to come up with some other clever idea like using hash tables or whatever and that's still sorta crappy in terms of organization.

If we'd have an adventure game where you could set an event to only happen once EVER, it'd make things a lot simpler.[/quote:3pv7dkl2]

I think it's necessary to take a step back and look at how a story line should logically be run here.

You want to run a part of the story only once per play through, therefore this event has a designated name or identifying feature, maybe it's called "Meet Robert", for example. The method you propose would arbitrarily make just one event run only once, with no identifying feature or name to signal what it is. What if you want two events linked to it? What if you want to reset the event, for example, you meet an enemy, battle him, and lose. What happens then.. do you get stuck? Using a hash table requires one condition (the same amount as your method would), and then just 1 action to signal that the event's happened (adding the identifying name to the hash table). This hash table entry can then be deleted (to allow replaying), or even incremented (if you want to allow it to happen several times). Another major advantage is that this list of events that's happened can be checked in the debugger, and also that it can be saved/loaded to disk. A system condition to check would not persist over save/loads, nor be in any way superior to organise as a hash table. You'd quickly forget where and how many story line items were going on, and their names, whereas with a hash table they're safely organised and named.
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529

Post » Thu Apr 16, 2009 7:26 pm

41) It'd be neat if we'd have a 'wait' action in our platform behavior. It'd just freeze the platform behavior for a certain amount of ms and then keep going again.

So if I want to send a guard on patrol, I'd have an invisible wall where he'd 'wait' and set the animation back to idle - then, after a certain amount of time he'd start patrolling again, heading into the other direction. Hits a wall, waits, idle, starts patrolling again, etc.

We could also use 'Wait' for timed stuff in Cutscenes. If Cutscene happens, wait for 5000ms, then move forward, etc.

42) It'd be cool to have a 'repeat last action' key in the IDE. So if I just toggled an event, I could select another one, hit the 'repeat last action' key and boom, this event also is toggled. Should also work with delete, invert, etc.
B
6
S
2
G
3
Posts: 520
Reputation: 2,690

Post » Fri Apr 17, 2009 4:24 am

Try the timer behavior. It would work well.
On collison with wall
->Stopenemy
->Start timer resetenemy for 5000MS

On timer resetenemy
->startagain.
B
5
S
2
G
4
Posts: 632
Reputation: 2,829

Post » Fri Apr 17, 2009 8:36 pm

43) Platform behavior again.

I'm currently designing enemies and it's kinda hard to define their behavior. What I want to achieve is this: The enemies are patrolling - which means they walk left for x amount of pixels, stop and go to the idle animation, then they turn around, walk x amount of pixels, stop and go to idle, etc. etc.

Very basic stuff. The problem is this one: I want the enemies to move based on the platforming behavior, since it already has all the stats set-up. The speed, gravity, jumping, everything. But it's kinda hard to define right now (at least I don't see how it could be done efficiently) that the enemy should walk from his current position to X:360 and from X:360 to X: 1200, etc.

That also makes it hard to take control over the character in cutscenes - usually, what do we do in cutscenes? We set the player inputs to ignore and run an event, so that the designer can 'take over' for a while.

It'd be cool to have a couple more actions with which we could actually control our characters behavior in form of simple events.
B
6
S
2
G
3
Posts: 520
Reputation: 2,690

Post » Fri Apr 17, 2009 9:08 pm

[quote="thomasmahler":1gvz049a]
What I want to achieve is this: The enemies are patrolling - which means they walk left for x amount of pixels, stop and go to the idle animation, then they turn around, walk x amount of pixels, stop and go to idle, etc. etc.
[/quote:1gvz049a]

I don't really think that's hard to achieve. You'll just have a PV on the enemy called Range or something similar and then you compare its current position to its last stopped position. If the difference is bigger than the PV Range, the enemy will go idle.

Here's a little example.
B
21
S
6
G
10
Posts: 1,024
Reputation: 7,445

Post » Fri Apr 17, 2009 9:12 pm

Interesting. I've used invisible walls so far for this :) Gotta take a look at your cap in a bit.
B
6
S
2
G
3
Posts: 520
Reputation: 2,690

PreviousNext

Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests