Negative scale bug

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Wed Jul 20, 2016 9:50 pm

Problem Description
A negative value in layer/layout scale won't render scene even though everything is scaled correctly.

Attach a Capx
https://1drv.ms/u/s!AhHSZHEulqh_gWRrHPP_cbb-zkvY

Description of Capx
-1 layer scale.

Steps to Reproduce Bug
  • run debug and check objects to see they are negatively scaled, however don't render.

Observed Result
nothing rendered.

Expected Result
should render flipped/mirrored

Affected Browsers
  • Chrome: (YES)
  • FireFox: (YES)
  • Internet Explorer: (YES)

Operating System and Service Pack
vista sp2

Construct 2 Version ID
r227
B
41
S
19
G
65
Posts: 1,085
Reputation: 37,842

Post » Wed Jul 20, 2016 9:51 pm

also.. It would be most useful to have separate scale values for Width and Height.
B
41
S
19
G
65
Posts: 1,085
Reputation: 37,842

Post » Wed Jul 20, 2016 10:00 pm

Not bug.

To scale, you can not use negative numbers.
B
90
S
40
G
27
Posts: 106
Reputation: 21,232

Post » Wed Jul 20, 2016 10:18 pm

If you want a whole layout to do that I'd suggest the Paster plug, or better yet an fx.
Image ImageImage
B
168
S
50
G
164
Posts: 8,239
Reputation: 105,597

Post » Mon Aug 01, 2016 2:48 pm

I'm not sure why you would want to do this, but it turns out the main problem was just the viewport was calculated as flipped (with the left edge on the right and vice versa). It should be fixed so you can use negative scales in the next build, if that is for some reason useful to you...
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
88
Posts: 24,254
Reputation: 192,470

Post » Wed Aug 03, 2016 10:31 pm

@Ashley, thanks. I just tried it in r232. Why can't users specify different values for x,y axis when scaling a layout or layer?
I'd like to be able to flip or mirror the layout/layers, and setting the scale to -1 just ends up with it rotated 180 basically since both axis get flipped instead of one.
B
41
S
19
G
65
Posts: 1,085
Reputation: 37,842

Post » Wed Aug 03, 2016 10:44 pm

That's part of the definition of scale, width, and height tied together by a multiplier.
Image ImageImage
B
168
S
50
G
164
Posts: 8,239
Reputation: 105,597

Post » Wed Aug 03, 2016 11:32 pm

newt, I want to scale a single axis, such as it's width or height values.
This is possible with sprites, by adjusting their width/height. If layouts/layers can be scaled- it would make sense to maintain some consistency and allow adjusting the x,y axis separately for those as well.
B
41
S
19
G
65
Posts: 1,085
Reputation: 37,842

Post » Wed Aug 03, 2016 11:57 pm

I understand what you want to do.
Tried to do something similar in Construct classic, but apparently the aspect ratio must be maintained.

I would still suggest an fx for this.
Image ImageImage
B
168
S
50
G
164
Posts: 8,239
Reputation: 105,597


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests