New features in Construct 2

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Fri Feb 11, 2011 4:28 am

no event based importable code blocks or copying between projects :O
B
52
S
7
G
6
Posts: 1,945
Reputation: 7,610

Post » Fri Feb 11, 2011 5:13 am

Copying between caps is on the to do list. viewtopic.php?f=35&t=8472
Moderator
B
87
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,397

Post » Sun Feb 20, 2011 6:27 pm

Sounds like a lot of nice features and a smart way of preparing the future.
Damn guys, this is brilliant, I wish you to manage to bring functionnal versions of this project like you did with 0.x.

Betting on the html5 is nice as it will allow for "full" multiplatform in theory. That's really a good call.
But a question tickles me, the editor renderer will use opengl (cool) but I thought opengl was badly implemented/supported on windows 7 (even more bad than on XP). I am still on XP, but that's what I've read at some point on the net. Have you ran tests, or something of the like to make sure ?
This also does mean that construct will be available in linux, which is an awesome news by itself.

[quote:1ac418hf]Collaboration becomes much easier as well, since you can either send changed files between team members, or place a C2 project under source control like SVN, and have full versioning, merging etc. Given that the file formats are XML this is much nicer for collaboration too.[/quote:1ac418hf]
instead of what quazi is saying, doesn't that means that blocks of code/events could be copied from projects to other ?
I'm not sure to have quite understood this part, yet it sounds awesome ^^
Edit: allright, talking about the public preview. I haven't checked it out yet. Will do asap.

Anyway, great features announced. Really !
You thought smart to make the best out of all the requests, and I think you keep going the good way in matter of designing construct. Great work to all the team, keep it on, I beg you, keep it on.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,999
Reputation: 57,793

Post » Sun Feb 20, 2011 7:42 pm

Thanks for the encouragement :)

[quote="Kyatric":3oo4qp9n]I thought opengl was badly implemented/supported on windows 7 (even more bad than on XP). I am still on XP, but that's what I've read at some point on the net. Have you ran tests, or something of the like to make sure ?[/quote:3oo4qp9n]
I develop C2 on Windows 7 and haven't had any problems. It's really up to the graphics card makers to make good quality OpenGL drivers for it to work well, and it's very much in their interest to do so. Actually, so far I think it'd been working better than the old DirectX editor (no D3DX install needed), so I'm guessing you just heard rumour.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Sat Feb 26, 2011 9:18 am

It sound like C2 is going to be very indie-proffesional :) which is great! Good luck! x

Edit@

Just want to add on top of that, i would like to say that games i've got designed are to console style for pc ( 0.x ) and would work the best as mobile devices apps. That's wat was putting me off from 0.x - lack of multiplatform support. And since I'm not a programmer neither got money to pay someone to program an app for me i had to put thise games on hold. But if C2 runs well on my old machine and if it will do what it suppose to, I'll be very happy and i buy it guys :)
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
71
S
19
G
19
Posts: 1,919
Reputation: 16,910

Post » Thu Mar 03, 2011 1:16 am

I am not a java-script knowledgeable person. So, I will ask you guys dose this make sense?

[code:adyiepmx]cnds["InstanceVariableSort"] = function (iv)
{

var arr = new Array(arguments.length - 1);

var i, len;
for (i = 0, len = arguments.length - 1; i < len; i++)
arr[i] = arguments[i + 1];

// Apply to Math.min
iv.set_float(Math.min.apply(null, arr));

return this.instance_vars[iv];
};[/code:adyiepmx]
B
21
S
4
G
4
Posts: 280
Reputation: 2,934

Post » Thu Mar 03, 2011 1:19 am

No, that code doesn't really make sense...! Looks like you pasted a random part of the runtime engine in to a condition routine!
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Fri Apr 01, 2011 12:00 pm

I'm not sure if this is the better thread to raise the point I want to talk about, if not mods know what to do :)

I've been thinking for some time about networking with construct and more specificaly making a server for a multiplayer game in construct. Basicaly the idea would be that clients are made to receive inputs from user and display the results of those actions to him. The inputs would be sent to a server (as well as the actionsof all the active players in the same game/party) which would compute the datas, events (collisions between sprites ? general game mechanic,...) and would broadcast back what to display to the client. You know, "basic" client/server exchange.

In my gamer's experience I've been facing dedicated servers for games (quake, trackmania nations,...) and those were mainly console applications.

So my point is in fact, would it be possible to have a new kind of application (maybe in the exporter of Construct 2) that would allow to make applications with no GUI but console.
The plugins would still be loaded, but they would and require no graphical representation (if you catch my drift). This way, datas such as collision masks of sprites would still exist in the memory, but would nowhere be displayed and yet could still be tested for the collision event (for example).

This way, such a server could natively run on linux system, needing lesser ressources (no GUI) and still would be programmed Construct's way.

I hope I make myself clear and that this idea hits the developer's interest (if they haven't already considered it).
if the idea could even be implemented in Construct 0.x (dropping the linux condition but at least would be able to be executed on windows for fewer ressources using python for the network communication) that would be also very great.

In fact as long as this feature ends up in any version of Construct, I'd be the happiest :)
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,999
Reputation: 57,793

Post » Sun Apr 03, 2011 7:56 pm

Sounds like such server could be done if someone created a node.js (+ maybe socket.io) exporter. Of course the server would need to have necessary node.js components installed. It would then be nice with an additional network component for the clients.

I would encourage anyone who would take the time to do this ;)
B
2
G
1
Posts: 15
Reputation: 480

Post » Thu Apr 21, 2011 9:54 pm

Are there plans that we can zoom in and out in the layout editor? (C2), I really miss that function in C0.x
Its really handy if you are working with large layouts.
B
43
S
8
G
5
Posts: 110
Reputation: 3,605

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests