New Intel XDK version released

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Apr 21, 2016 11:47 am

The new WKWebView export is designed for the new Intel XDK project format. I don't know if it works with the old format, but if you enable WKWebView, you must include all three of these plugins for it to work:

cordova-plugin-wkwebview-engine
cordova-plugin-file
cordova-plugin-httpd

If you disable WKWebView, you should not need any of them. If you use the new Intel XDK project format, or PhoneGap Build, those plugins are specified automatically.
Scirra Founder
B
397
S
236
G
88
Posts: 24,423
Reputation: 194,560

Post » Thu Apr 21, 2016 3:43 pm

Construct 227 64bit
Intel XDK 3240

RE: Zeroflags post from on this thread from 1st April. (iOS devices give black screen on 'emulate' preview.)

When I go to the emulate tab, my games work on all Android and Windows emulated devices, but I just get a black screen for all of the iOS devices.
Has anyone found a fix for this? Is this a common problem?

Thanks in advance.
B
3
Posts: 5
Reputation: 185

Post » Thu Apr 21, 2016 3:53 pm

filecore wrote:Construct 227 64bit
Intel XDK 3240

RE: Zeroflags post from on this thread from 1st April. (iOS devices give black screen on 'emulate' preview.)

When I go to the emulate tab, my games work on all Android and Windows emulated devices, but I just get a black screen for all of the iOS devices.
Has anyone found a fix for this? Is this a common problem?

Thanks in advance.


Not a common see this >> issue-with-wkwebview-on-ios_t171504

I wait C2 team release new build for fix it. It not work only intelxdk but also cocoon not work too !!
B
15
S
5
G
3
Posts: 72
Reputation: 2,645

Post » Thu Apr 21, 2016 4:02 pm

OK, thank you Zeroflag. We shall wait and see.
I should have also added that I can still successfully test on an iOS device using App Preview. (I haven't had the need to build any iOS apps yet).
B
3
Posts: 5
Reputation: 185

Post » Wed Apr 27, 2016 6:40 am

Do you guys have a problem with Intel XDK iOS WKWebView where;

1. The status bar is not hidden?

2. When music tracks are changed, there's an entire 1 second pause/stutter of gameplay?

3. Audio/music sometimes play/not... very random.
B
70
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,757
Reputation: 17,614

Post » Sat Apr 30, 2016 12:17 am

Message: xmnboy can only post plain text URLS until they have 500 rep. 1 URLS modified. Why?
@chadorireborn -- there is now an Intel XDK FAQ that explains how to get access to other Crosswalk versions (for builds only). See this post

https://software.intel.com/en-us/xdk/faqs/ crosswalk#crosswalk-unlisted-build

(Remove the spaces in the URL, I don't have the points necessary to post a long URL on this site).
Intel Corporation
B
13
S
3
Posts: 79
Reputation: 925

Post » Sat Apr 30, 2016 12:44 am

@shinkan and @Cipriux and @chadorireborn -- I hope to get some time to put together an article and video showing how to update a C2 app once you've already got a project started in the XDK. In essence:

- use the export only once (the first time you create an XDK project)
- copy changed files from subsequent C2 exports into your existing XDK project
- manually add or remove plugins that have changed as a result of each export
- check for changes in the intelxdk.config.additions.xml file

If you are only changing code, then noting which source files have changed means just copying them over to the existing project, in some cases you may be able to just replace all the source files in the existing project with the new files in the exported project. Of course, if you are adding/deleting code manually in your exported source files, you'll have to work harder to figure out what needs to be updated in the existing project.

If you have made changes in your project that would impact either the intelxdk.config.additions.xml file or the list of plugins that are part of your project, you'll have to handle that manually. You can inspect the <project-name>.xdk file to see which plugins are being specified, or look inside the config.xml that is exported for use by PhoneGap Build. This means you should keep a copy of those files around for diff'ng between exports. Might be easiest to simply diff the old config.xml file with the new one.

As I said, when time permits, I'll create an article and/or video that shows how to do this, but I would expect it to be an expansion of what I just explained above.
Intel Corporation
B
13
S
3
Posts: 79
Reputation: 925

Post » Sat Apr 30, 2016 1:15 am

@xmnboy

Yeah I figured to copy the game export files over and override the Intel XDK folder after a few times. Basically just replace the contents of the www folder with your updated game export.

Overall it's a very streamlined process and the IPA works with Apple Test Flight.

I'm pleased with the performance overall. There's an issue with Apple's WKWebView treating games using it as a website and so music gets streamed separately into Air Drop. What this means is there are lag/stutter when music tracks are changed. It also ignores "Preload Music". If tracks are changed rapidly, two tracks may play at once and cause instability/crashes. These issues can be work-around with your game design so it's not too bad.

Performance wise, it's good, this is my PC game ported to iOS: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dk9Dn41vNKs

It holds 60 fps quite well even in big battles. The only dips are due to music tracks changing.
B
70
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,757
Reputation: 17,614

Post » Sat Apr 30, 2016 7:03 am

@xmnboy - Thanks nice document. I've noticed on Crosswalk 17 & Crosswalk 18 Beta (using the guide above). The white bar decreases it's visibility duration (but still there), which is a good news but Crosswalk 16 still has the long duration of Rectangle Bar. Perhaps this is more of a crosswalk problem.
The Things you can create is only limited by your imagination. If you don't have the skills then use your motivation as a natural force to exceed all expectations. Chadori RebornXD
B
65
S
21
G
90
Posts: 1,124
Reputation: 59,857

Post » Sat Apr 30, 2016 10:03 am

@xmnboy At the moment splashscreen is only seem to delay the game loading. What will be nice is to combine splashscreen and loading bar from C2 into 1 screen. At the moment on my Samsung Galaxy s2 I see a 2-10 sec black screen between splashscreen and the C2 loading bar.
B
81
S
21
G
23
Posts: 515
Reputation: 18,702

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: COGames, Euduardo, Refeuh, SketchyLogic and 6 guests