New Intel XDK version released

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sun May 01, 2016 10:54 pm

Message: xmnboy can only post plain text URLS until they have 500 rep. 1 URLS modified. Why?
@ciprius -- if you are seeing a black screen the splash screen is likely being turned off too early, because your game or Cordova (or both) is probably still initializing. If you are using a simple delay value in the intelxdk.config.additions.xml file to set the splash screen delay (or just accepting the default, which I think is 2 or 3 seconds) but your game is taking longer to initialize, you could see something like that. For example, if you're relying on a line like this in the additions file which is used by the splash screen plugin:

Code: Select all
<preference name="AutoHideSplashScreen" value="true" />

The splash screen plugin includes an API that can be used to effectively "synchronize" the completion of Cordova and Construct2 game initialization, so the splash screen remains until everything is ready to run. However, to use that technique, you need to understand how to write custom JavaScript in your C2 app AND know how to recognize when the Cordova bit is initialized as well as when the C2 bit is initialized. To synchronize the splash screen with just the Cordova init, you would set the line I show above to "false" and do something like this in your app:

Code: Select all
function onAppReady() {
    if( navigator.splashscreen && navigator.splashscreen.hide ) {   // Cordova API detected
        navigator.splashscreen.hide() ;
    }
}
document.addEventListener("app.Ready", onAppReady, false) ;
// document.addEventListener("deviceready", onAppReady, false) ;
// document.addEventListener("onload", onAppReady, false) ;


See the Cordova splash screen plugin for complete documentation > https://github.com/ apache /cordova-plugin-splashscreen (remove the spaces in the URL, I don't have enough points to post URLs on this forum).
Intel Corporation
B
13
S
3
Posts: 79
Reputation: 925

Post » Sun May 01, 2016 11:32 pm

@Cipriux -- it would be helpful for me to understand what your game does for initialization. Since I don't create C2 games I don't know what the typical init code looks like. If you could share a dummy game that does what you are describing, and provide that to me for testing, I might be able to figure out what's going on (Cordova init, plugin init, C2 init, something else...).
Intel Corporation
B
13
S
3
Posts: 79
Reputation: 925

Post » Mon May 02, 2016 9:32 pm

Splash screen and/or loading layout was always an issue for construct2, although as is, it gets the job done; sort off :)
You see, on big games for example, with lots of graphic and sound effects (not music) loading layout never works, unless you set "Preload sounds" to NO, otherwise you have to stare at a black screen for 20sec or more until loading layout shows. You can always set "Loader style" to progress bar or percentage, but wont that defeat the purpose of a loading layout?

So I think construct 2 should improve how it loads game and perhaps redesign the loading layout function so that we don't have to use 3rd party plugins for this.
Don't get me wrong, SDK is awesome and I my opinion the best there is, but construct2 also export to other platforms not just Cordova.
B
37
S
9
Posts: 63
Reputation: 2,255

Post » Tue May 03, 2016 3:23 pm

Hey, guys

Why admob plugin does not work on latest version of Intel, is there any problem with that.?

I see that international banner does not appear at all.
B
24
S
9
G
1
Posts: 68
Reputation: 2,291

Post » Thu May 05, 2016 6:57 am

@xmnboy

There seems to be a bug with the minimum required iOS version setting. I've set it for 9.0 or 9 and it defaults to "8.0 or later".
B
70
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,757
Reputation: 17,616

Post » Thu May 05, 2016 6:59 am

Is there a known issue/bug with In App Browser Object in Intel XDK? It is non-functional with C2 227 (latest) and Intel XDK 3240 (latest) versions
B
82
S
32
G
7
Posts: 281
Reputation: 10,695

Post » Thu May 05, 2016 10:54 pm

Well, I do not now about the admob plugins, I tired to use more than 3 different plugins but all of them does not work with intel xdk 3240, even admob pro it does not work, but i think with intel xdk 3033 or the previous version one of them works fine, any solution for these admob plugin please.?
B
24
S
9
G
1
Posts: 68
Reputation: 2,291

Post » Thu May 05, 2016 11:59 pm

SaRaB wrote:Well, I do not now about the admob plugins, I tired to use more than 3 different plugins but all of them does not work with intel xdk 3240, even admob pro it does not work, but i think with intel xdk 3033 or the previous version one of them works fine, any solution for these admob plugin please.?


I'm always reading these messages with admob problems, do not understand why this keeps happening, why not make an official tutorial to be updated when it is convenient?.
B
31
S
13
G
21
Posts: 844
Reputation: 14,693

Post » Fri May 06, 2016 8:58 am

Message: Josek5494 can only post plain text URLS until they have 500 rep. 1 URLS modified. Why?
Mirlas wrote:
SaRaB wrote:Well, I do not now about the admob plugins, I tired to use more than 3 different plugins but all of them does not work with intel xdk 3240, even admob pro it does not work, but i think with intel xdk 3033 or the previous version one of them works fine, any solution for these admob plugin please.?


I'm always reading these messages with admob problems, do not understand why this keeps happening, why not make an official tutorial to be updated when it is convenient?.


Hey guys! I don't know if the problem is solved (at least not for me till last week), but i make a plugin to show adds calling the plugin cordova-plugin-admobpro by Liming Xie (which imports fine and without error in new xdk update). It's very simple but works. The video is in spanish but with english subtitles: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dnyziNpxNOI
B
19
S
6
G
2
Posts: 260
Reputation: 2,653

Post » Fri May 06, 2016 6:41 pm

hi, Josek5494

can you please give me another link for the plugin in construct 2, cause i can not open it in my country so i will try and use your idea, by the way thank you so much for the plugin and help.

give a link like media-fire
B
24
S
9
G
1
Posts: 68
Reputation: 2,291

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests