New object crash [SOLVED]

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Tue May 31, 2011 7:26 pm

My game start crashing if I create a new object. If I counted correctly, i have now 199 objects total, and by adding a new object, the game doesn't work anymore (not talking about instances, i'm talking about unique objects)



I'm using C0.99.97 since C1 is crashing because of SpriteFont object
B
83
S
21
G
15
Posts: 1,039
Reputation: 15,129

Post » Tue May 31, 2011 8:55 pm

How much ram is it taking up before you add that final straw?
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
89
Posts: 7,347
Reputation: 66,249

Post » Tue May 31, 2011 8:59 pm

5.21m textures
11mb targets
16.21mb total

Approx 2513 MB texture memory remaining

, says the F7 button
B
83
S
21
G
15
Posts: 1,039
Reputation: 15,129

Post » Tue May 31, 2011 9:39 pm

Hmm, well supposedly the only thing that should limit you is hardware, but you are getting into territory that's not been tested too much.
I suppose it could be ram rather than vram, what with the editor taking up a bit as well.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
89
Posts: 7,347
Reputation: 66,249

Post » Tue May 31, 2011 9:49 pm

I've got almost 500 objects in my game, so I doubt that's the problem. I have noticed instability with the IDE when there's 100 or more different objects in the same layout though. I think there's still a memory leak somewhere, because the IDE tends to crash in a similar fashion to the old event sheet wizard memory leak when working with animations in layouts with that many objects.
Moderator
B
87
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,397

Post » Tue May 31, 2011 10:01 pm

Btw, tried updating to CC1.2 but the bug is still there
B
83
S
21
G
15
Posts: 1,039
Reputation: 15,129

Post » Sat Jun 04, 2011 8:58 pm

bump
B
83
S
21
G
15
Posts: 1,039
Reputation: 15,129

Post » Sat Jun 04, 2011 9:26 pm

Well what happens? Like is it just the game or does the editor crash as well, or are there any error messages? Also can you run the game from different layouts, or is just on the layout the object is on? Whats is the last object, and have you tried other objects?
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
89
Posts: 7,347
Reputation: 66,249

Post » Sun Jun 05, 2011 4:02 am

[code:1c064lbn]---------------------------
Runtime error
---------------------------
An unexpected error occurred and the application was terminated.

You may be able to find out more information about the crash by Debugging, and attempting to reproduce the bug.[/code:1c064lbn]

Then I get "Temp3.exe stopped working"

[quote:1c064lbn]Also can you run the game from different layouts, or is just on the layout the object is on?[/quote:1c064lbn]
The crash happens on the 3rd Layout, but doesn't matter wich layout has the last object. Like, if the crash happens, then I delete an object from Layout 3, and insert a new one on Layout 1, the crash still happens when I get to layout 3. Even if I switch the order of the Layouts, the crash still happens on the same layout (it's the one that has most of the objects btw)

If I start the test right at layout 3, I get a crash
If I start at 1 and go to 2 and then 3, crash
If I start at 1 and go to 3, crash

[quote:1c064lbn]Whats is the last object, and have you tried other objects?[/quote:1c064lbn]
Tryed Sprite, INI, Text and TiledBackground and all cause the crash
B
83
S
21
G
15
Posts: 1,039
Reputation: 15,129

Post » Sun Jun 05, 2011 5:00 am

Ok,are you using transitions?
Then if that's not it have you ran the debugger?
Barring any obvious signs I think your going to have to try removing objects from the 3rd layout, and then replacing them with something else. Might try the MagicCam first, and then move to the non default plugs.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
89
Posts: 7,347
Reputation: 66,249

Next

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest