Newb - Bone animation and different looks and code questions

This forum is currently in read-only mode.
From the Asset Store
Adjusting the game screen for different resolutions (Letterbox scale)
  • Okay. First of all, I'm still a newbie at all of this. But I have tried searching the forum, though not look through every page of threads.

Second. Can you have the game exported to code? I'm guessing this program, has prewritten code for all the things it does, and it just puts it where it's needed then loads as if the game has code. Is there a way to view the code version? Kind of like Dream Weaver showing you the HTML behind the scene if you wish.

Unless I'm wrong, and it does. If it doesn't... oh well, just thought I'd ask.

Thirdly. I just found out about Bone Animation for this program, and quite frankly, it is beyond awesome. However, there's something I want to know. What if your sprite has different stances. Example being one stance is him facing the player (outward towards the user) and one stance running to the side, like the prince in prince of persia, with his head looking to the side. Is there a way to do this with bone animation or do I just have to have 2 sprites or bone animation? One with the face looking one way, and one looking the other. If you can't, which I expect you can't, what is the best way to do so? Do you just swap out with a second set of animation or a completely new sprite?

EDIT: I found a sort of answer to this. Though if there are better solutions, I'd love to hear about it.

Solution being 2 different animation sets. http://www.scirra.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6259&f=3

I ask because, maybe the other parts can be the same, but one part turns to the side or something.

Great program by the way, doesn't help much with learning how to code your own game, if you can't see the code, but it's very nice and easy and fast to get into.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.