Newb needs help.

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Mon Mar 22, 2010 8:16 am

Hello everyone. First I would like to say how awsome Construct is, and how thankful I am for all of you guys for creating it. Ok on to my question I'm makeing a simple game and I'm having a problem.
I can't figure out how to make objects fall and stack up. Example: I click a block and drag it to the top of the screen, once I release it should fall down untill it hits another object. I tried to find an if statment in the events but I havent found one.

Simple Idea in psudeocode (Sort of)

Start
IF "Block1" NOT collision = true
Block1.z = -1
ENDIF

I don't know if that makes sense to you or not, but if you don't understand I'll try to explain more.
B
2
G
2
Posts: 28
Reputation: 706

Post » Mon Mar 22, 2010 10:52 am

Use physics behavior.
B
3
S
2
G
3
Posts: 628
Reputation: 2,531

Post » Mon Mar 22, 2010 11:05 am

lol, I knew someone would say that. I don't want to use the Physics behaivour because it interacts awkwerd with other objects, and I only want objects to fall down untill they hit another object and stack on it (Like Tetris). Sorry, Thanks for your reply though.
B
2
G
2
Posts: 28
Reputation: 706

Post » Mon Mar 22, 2010 11:13 am

[quote="Lost my Keys":2ie37unb]Use physics behavior.[/quote:2ie37unb]
[quote="Bustercube":2ie37unb]lol, I knew someone would say that. I don't want to use the Physics behaivour because it interacts awkwerd with other objects, and I only want objects to fall down untill they hit another object and stack on it (Like Tetris). Sorry, Thanks for your reply though.[/quote:2ie37unb]

I was about to say the same thing as Lost my Keys. But now that I know what you need it for, it's obvious you can't use physics for that. :wink:

There are Tetris examples somewhere and the forum btw. Maybe do a google search.

Still I made this example

[url:2ie37unb]http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2306601/cubebust1.cap[/url:2ie37unb]

to kind of resemble your pseudo-code. Maybe it'll be helpful to you. Cheers. :)
B
21
S
6
G
10
Posts: 1,024
Reputation: 7,445

Post » Mon Mar 22, 2010 11:17 am

Thanks for the help, I couldn't open the cap file it gives me a out of memory error.
B
2
G
2
Posts: 28
Reputation: 706

Post » Mon Mar 22, 2010 11:22 am

I bet you use still use version 0.99.62, which is the latest marked stable. But most people here on the forum use a more recent version, often the very last release. Look for it in Construct Discussion.

The cap was saved in 0.99.7. But you can just grab 0.99.84 I guess.
B
21
S
6
G
10
Posts: 1,024
Reputation: 7,445

Post » Mon Mar 22, 2010 11:34 am

made a little example

while I was making the cap your thread got 5 answeres lol
anyway you can find it usefull

http://www.box.net/shared/lvc3cc76dz
made with 0.99.62
B
23
S
2
G
4
Posts: 36
Reputation: 2,822

Post » Mon Mar 22, 2010 11:58 am

Wow, thanks guys for the help.
@nowon, Thanks I'll have to look over that cap in the morning, from what I've seen it loos awsome.
@PixelRebirth, I don't know if I should use an unstable version if I'm not one of the engineers working on this project.
B
2
G
2
Posts: 28
Reputation: 706

Post » Tue Mar 23, 2010 1:15 am

[quote="Bustercube":1p7hh8ar]@PixelRebirth, I don't know if I should use an unstable version if I'm not one of the engineers working on this project.[/quote:1p7hh8ar]

There's no need to be overly afraid of the term "unstable". In fact you'll get some sweet new features from more recent Construct versions. Which is why most users on the forum (who surely aren't engineers either) are working with those "evil" unstable builds. :P
B
21
S
6
G
10
Posts: 1,024
Reputation: 7,445

Post » Tue Mar 23, 2010 2:29 am

Some unstable builds are actually more stable than the stable builds.
B
25
S
3
G
6
Posts: 1,197
Reputation: 5,620

Next

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests