Newb needs help.

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Tue Mar 23, 2010 2:29 am

Some unstable builds are actually more stable than the stable builds.
B
25
S
3
G
6
Posts: 1,197
Reputation: 5,620

Post » Tue Mar 23, 2010 6:23 am

Hey nowon, can you tell me what this event is in your cap file?



This is what my cap file events look like



Thanks in advance.
B
2
G
2
Posts: 28
Reputation: 706

Post » Tue Mar 23, 2010 10:35 am

[quote="Bustercube":1nsmrrd9]Hey nowon, can you tell me what this event is in your cap file?[/quote:1nsmrrd9]

It's called an inverted condition. So it will be true as long as Block does NOT overlap Terrain. You can rightclick a condition and choose "Invert condition" to invert/negate it.

Also let me mention that the always condition in that first event is unnecessary . You can as well leave it out. The event will run every tick nonetheless.

More importantly in Nowon's example and your cap you're just adding to the Y position without incorporating TimeDelta (it would have to be like set Y position to object.Y + 'Y Speed' * TimeDelta). Which would mean the blocks will fall at different speeds on different computers depending on the refresh rate.

So this is really a thing you should keep an eye on. I recommend reading the following wiki article: TimeDelta Wiki
B
21
S
6
G
10
Posts: 1,024
Reputation: 7,445

Post » Tue Mar 23, 2010 10:43 am

In your case the program will check if the brick ovrlaps terrain and make it fall down if there is no ground beneath.
When you leave this condition not inverted the event will move your bricks only if they overlap some ground.
B
23
S
2
G
4
Posts: 36
Reputation: 2,822

Post » Tue Mar 23, 2010 10:48 am

[quote="PixelRebirth":2iqmkzic]TimeDelta is really a thing you should keep an eye on[/quote:2iqmkzic]

yep my bad sorry
Indeed TimeDelta is very important to add
B
23
S
2
G
4
Posts: 36
Reputation: 2,822

Post » Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:17 pm

Ok thank you both for the help, and I'll go look up Timedelta.
B
2
G
2
Posts: 28
Reputation: 706

Post » Sat Mar 27, 2010 4:36 am

I used TimeDelta like you guys suggested. I'm having new problems now, When selecting blocks and moving them sometimes they will float. I think it's the collisions, they only float when another block is on top of them.
.cap file
[url:y16hq9hr]http://www.mediafire.com/?mmyzmmnvnfi[/url:y16hq9hr]
B
2
G
2
Posts: 28
Reputation: 706

Post » Sat Mar 27, 2010 8:41 am

[quote="Bustercube":6b31lqc4]I used TimeDelta like you guys suggested. I'm having new problems now, When selecting blocks and moving them sometimes they will float. I think it's the collisions, they only float when another block is on top of them.
.cap file
[url:6b31lqc4]http://www.mediafire.com/?mmyzmmnvnfi[/url:6b31lqc4][/quote:6b31lqc4]

Has nothing to do with Timedelta though, as this was a problem with nowon's example to begin with. Also, looking at your cap, it seems a bit needlessly complicated. I wish you had actually installed a recent Construct version and looked into my example as well.

Anyway, here is it again saved in an older version. You should be able to open it in 0.99.62.
[url:6b31lqc4]http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2306601/cubebust3_94.cap[/url:6b31lqc4]

If you follow that approach there should be no floating. Cheers. :P
B
21
S
6
G
10
Posts: 1,024
Reputation: 7,445

Post » Sat Mar 27, 2010 10:50 am

Wow, thanks Pixel. It's clutered because I have no idea how to use Construct effectivly XD I'm still a real newb to this system.
B
2
G
2
Posts: 28
Reputation: 706

Previous

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests