"Next layout" borked / freaking out

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Tue Nov 25, 2008 11:16 am

Okay, first of all, let me say that I hope that this makes sense. I took some screenshots in the hope that that would help.

Anyway, I think that "next layout" is completely broken, but I'm not entirely sure if this is a bug or just me being dumb about something.

First, we have this:



This setup is (fairly obviously) the order in which the layouts are supposed to be played. Upon running the program, the opening cutscene plays as expected, and then the next two events are completely given a pass in favor of Stage One. Okay, that's weird. So I closed the program and reopened it.



Sure enough, the events have rearranged themselves to reflect the order in which they played before. Okay, it's just a refresh glitch maybe. I rearranged the layouts into their right order and hit play. The stage one screen pops up, then the title screen, then the cutscene. Okay, let's try restarting Construct again.



So it's not just a refresh glitch. It's seemingly rearranging the entire layout set every time under its own set of mysterious rules.

My game is done with the exception of weaving stages together. If this is a bug, it's a major one, and I need to know how to get around it soon. I have not yet tried using pure "go to layout" with a string literal, but I will assume that it works for the sake of my sanity.

Any information is appreciated.

Edit: Wrong image codes. Whoops.
B
1
G
4
Posts: 3
Reputation: 1,031

Post » Tue Nov 25, 2008 1:09 pm

This is a known bug I think, same thing happens sometimes on the animator bar.

The events sheets, should also be a dead giveaway that something is wrong.
I think as it is you just have to plan on using layouts, sheets, animations in the order you create them.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,350
Reputation: 66,755

Post » Tue Nov 25, 2008 1:44 pm

I managed to "fix" (read: "get around") this by just hard-coding transitions with "Go to layout" instead of "Next layout". If anyone else is having the same problem, I'd recommend this approach. Note that this was after closing and reopening three times to make the first layout actually first.

You have no idea how good it is that this bug has a workaround. I would have been utterly screwed without it.
B
1
G
4
Posts: 3
Reputation: 1,031

Post » Tue Nov 25, 2008 5:14 pm

Yeah, this bug has been reported before - it seems dragging layouts in the project bar to change their order sometimes looks like it's changed the order, but it hasn't really actually done anything. I haven't ever been able to reproduce it myself, but I'll see what can be done about it...
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,564

Post » Wed Dec 03, 2008 12:56 pm

Yeah, it does that thing every time for me. I've just gotten used to "Go To Layout" and marking my layouts with numbers according to when I created them.
B
2
S
2
G
4
Posts: 110
Reputation: 1,670

Post » Wed Dec 03, 2008 1:07 pm

Whilst there's clearly an annoying bug here - which I'm looking into - you can just use names in your Go To Layout action, which is probably the better solution anyway (what if you wanted to re-order your levels/layouts after you'd added a lot of these events?).
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529

Post » Wed Dec 03, 2008 1:44 pm

This is now fixed.. it was code from when event sheets weren't in the Project Bar messing up. :)
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests