No Audio on iOS

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Tue Mar 24, 2015 6:32 pm

Problem Description
NO audio in iOS

Attach a Capx

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/22406377/AudioTest2.capx
Description of Capx

Simple capx with tab and touch object


Steps to Reproduce Bug
  • Imported audio as wav-file
  • converted 96kb in C2
  • Exported project as Cordova
  • Build with intel XDK as Cordova iOS

as this

Image


Tested the adhoc ipa on Ipad 2/ios8
Tested the adhoc ipa on Iphone 5/ios7


Operating System and Service Pack
win 8.1

Construct 2 Version ID
R200
Last edited by flemmig on Mon Mar 30, 2015 7:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
33
S
17
G
11
Posts: 350
Reputation: 8,695

Post » Thu Mar 26, 2015 4:53 pm

iOS needs a screen tap before any sound will play.

Usually importing wavs 44.1kHz and 16 bit Mono always works well for me.
B
24
S
7
G
1
Posts: 186
Reputation: 2,716

Post » Mon Mar 30, 2015 1:51 pm

Closing, please follow the bug report guidelines (attach a .capx, and also note what @aquinn said).
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,371
Reputation: 193,762

Post » Mon Mar 30, 2015 2:20 pm

Okay ... should I understand this as iOS needs a screen tap for audio ?

Sorry my complete capx. was huge
this is a simple one

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/22406377/AudioTest.capx

Would be VERY glad if I could know if its a C2 Issue or intel XDK

:-) Flemming
B
33
S
17
G
11
Posts: 350
Reputation: 8,695

Post » Mon Mar 30, 2015 4:25 pm

Looking at your capx, your sounds are in the Music folder. You should import them into Sounds, so they are preloaded.

The tap thing is a specific quirk to iOS -on cordova builds. Ejecta is OK, but it's a non-official platform now.
B
24
S
7
G
1
Posts: 186
Reputation: 2,716

Post » Mon Mar 30, 2015 6:36 pm

Thanks for input

Now tried that with this capx. ( preload , and tab object plus touch object )

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/22406377/AudioTest2.capx

Export as Cordova with m4a files, Build in a clean new project in XDK
installed on both iphone5 and iPad = NO AUDIO

As I see there must be a BUG .. either C2 or Intel xdk

the log file from XDK build
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/22406377/xdk%20build%20LOG.txt
B
33
S
17
G
11
Posts: 350
Reputation: 8,695

Post » Thu Apr 02, 2015 1:15 pm

Hi again

This is Intels answer in xdk forum
Hi Flemming,

I tried your app you sent me. It looks like it is using Web Audio when you are running on the device. The audio is generally supported in webview but not reliable. You should be using Cordova for audio. If there is a way in C2 to force your app to use Cordova you should do that, otherwise you have to write js code to implement audio using Cordova plugin. There are examples available in sample apps.

Swati


So my ? what is wrong here .. since thought that C2 out of the box > Cordova export would work

If someone would try this simple capx. Export as Cordova in C2 for iOS
and build in XDK as Cordova .. and check for audio on device (iPad/Iphone)

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/22406377/AudioTest2.capx

Have a nice day
B
33
S
17
G
11
Posts: 350
Reputation: 8,695


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests