No containers? I just realized how bad it is...

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 2:47 am

I remember wanting containers, but I think I'm fine without them now I can't even remember why I wanted them. I feel there's more flexibility without containers, and only adds a few extra lines of code. I can have every enemy use the same detector object and attach what every sprite I want to it just using 'for each' and comparing to an ID.
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,765
Reputation: 19,188

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 7:02 am

I just use an array to keep track. I might knock out a relevant tutorial when I finish this project.
B
10
S
3
G
4
Posts: 13
Reputation: 3,264

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 10:19 am

No containers -> good opportunity to learn "for each" and "pick by " at last.
B
19
S
6
G
4
Posts: 171
Reputation: 2,507

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 1:43 pm

Containers are on the todo list, but I'm afraid we can't give an ETA!
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 2:11 pm

I managed to create a nice way to spawn sprites with lifebars, using the Fors and Picks. You can download the game and .capx in here:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-23/?action=preview&uid=11569

...but I guess you can also achieve it with the new "PinnedUID" expression. I haven't tried it yet, but I imagine it can be done.
B
107
S
40
G
10
Posts: 456
Reputation: 13,202

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 6:50 pm

I just found that Ashley don't have medal. I think if you trying to improve software, you should buy it, because there's only 100 lines of code possible and no families for free version.

It was a joke.
B
19
S
6
G
4
Posts: 171
Reputation: 2,507

Previous

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bilgekaan, digitalsoapbox, shinichild, TRMG and 10 guests