No sound in IE but fine in chrome?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Nov 03, 2013 4:26 pm

Hi everyone, My game is playing fine in chrome but in IE there is no sound.

Please help.

https://secured.com/~f3068/ninja/

Thanks

Dan
B
10
S
3
Posts: 113
Reputation: 1,191

Post » Sun Nov 03, 2013 5:10 pm

Make sure yo import .wave PCM16. C2 will create an m4a file that IE should play.
B
90
S
18
G
9
Posts: 2,455
Reputation: 15,028

Post » Sun Nov 03, 2013 7:56 pm

I thought it automatically did that. Jeez that's a lot of importing.

Thanks
B
10
S
3
Posts: 113
Reputation: 1,191

Post » Sun Nov 03, 2013 8:01 pm

You may want to read Ashley's latest BLOG.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
134
S
30
G
86
Posts: 5,415
Reputation: 59,516

Post » Mon Nov 04, 2013 10:35 am

when I imported wav files, I had to make sure they were stereo, otherwise it couldnt convert them to the extra format.
Who dares wins
B
57
S
17
G
21
Posts: 1,878
Reputation: 19,572

Post » Mon Nov 04, 2013 2:04 pm

@Dan Blast, how did you work on the open animation on start of your game, and also on full screen mode, your game seemed to zoom in sort off, this u handle that personally. i would appreciate some tips.
Sorry i'm not contributing to your solution but i think the import .wav would have done it thanks
B
15
S
4
Posts: 138
Reputation: 2,003

Post » Mon Nov 04, 2013 2:16 pm

Ok, so i just observed that my game is having this IE sound problem too, i've been testing in Chrome and Mozilla so i didn't notice.
On running on IE IDM picks up automatic download of some of the sound and music files, but still doesn't play after i agree to download.
All my sound and music files have the .ogg and .m4a or .wav format imported in the game, must they all have .wav even those that have it are not even playing @all.
I would appreciate some help, thanks
B
15
S
4
Posts: 138
Reputation: 2,003

Post » Mon Nov 04, 2013 2:49 pm

I have all three types of files in the game oog, m4a and wav. It plays fine on a pc but not on the iphone, ipad, kindle sounds are missing.

I.E has no sounds at all what soever.

https://secured.com/~f3068/ninjatouch/
B
10
S
3
Posts: 113
Reputation: 1,191

Post » Mon Nov 04, 2013 3:14 pm

Predictably, it's the server MIME type configuration. See: https://secured.com/~f3068/ninja/media/ching.m4a

According to web-sniffer.net, your server is sending .m4a files with the MIME type text/plain. This is the wrong type (it should be audio/mp4) and so browsers which play the .m4a files like IE and Safari won't load the audio files.

This is described in the manual: https://www.scirra.com/manual/84/sounds-music
Scirra Founder
B
397
S
236
G
88
Posts: 24,422
Reputation: 194,558

Post » Mon Nov 04, 2013 6:39 pm

How do I remedy this?
B
10
S
3
Posts: 113
Reputation: 1,191

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: brunopalermo, ST314, TheRealDannyyy, tunepunk and 32 guests