No window frame in node-webkit? (r190)

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:03 am

Hey there,

Did anyone else notice that the window frame (bar with the minimize, maximize and 'x' buttons) is lacking from node-webkit games made with Construct 2 r190 ? I tried changing the "frame" option in the node-webkit exporter files, but it didn't change anything.
Anyone knows how to fix this?

Thanks in advance!
B
12
S
3
G
3
Posts: 206
Reputation: 2,404

Post » Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:56 am

I'm on r190, and I'm getting window controls here. I've never seen this before, I'm afraid. :(
Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
45
S
10
G
11
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,732

Post » Mon Dec 29, 2014 2:52 am

I assume that you checked the Window Frame option on Node export. So, here are a few steps which will reveal if it's a bug in C2:

Open the package.nw using 7zip and extract the package.json. Open package.json using a text editor and you should see some settings:

Code: Select all
"window": {
      "icon": "logo.png",
      "toolbar": false,
      "width": 1280,
      "height": 720,
      "position": "center",
      "resizable": true,
      "frame": true,
      "kiosk": false,
      "show": false
   },


If "frame":true is false and you selected Window Frame during the export then it's a problem with C2 (please submit your example as a bug report - I recall someone else reporting this problem perhaps a month ago...). If your exported package.json looks like the above code then I'm afraid that I've just reached the limit of my understanding!
Learning other engines, but C2 still rocks. Image Image Image Image
B
81
S
22
G
96
Posts: 2,467
Reputation: 58,351

Post » Mon Dec 29, 2014 4:04 am

Yes, the window frame box was checked when I exported. I just looked at the exported package.json file, and "frame" is set to true (just like it was in C2's node-webkit exporter package.json and package-preview.json files).

I could post a bug report, but I'm afraid Ashley will say that he can't reproduce it, and that it won't get resolved.
B
12
S
3
G
3
Posts: 206
Reputation: 2,404

Post » Mon Dec 29, 2014 4:22 am

@Kan It's worth a shot! I haven't exported anything yet, but I've got no window frame in preview since r190.
B
88
S
43
G
71
Posts: 601
Reputation: 43,669

Post » Mon Dec 29, 2014 4:25 am

@spacedoubt Yes same here. It started with no window frame in preview, so I tried exporting and I have the same issue. I'll post a bug report and then if you like you can post a short comment to it just to say that I'm not the only one dealing with this issue.
B
12
S
3
G
3
Posts: 206
Reputation: 2,404

Post » Mon Dec 29, 2014 4:37 am

@Kan will do!
B
88
S
43
G
71
Posts: 601
Reputation: 43,669

Post » Mon Dec 29, 2014 4:43 am

There, if anyone wants to add something or just say they have the same problem :
no-window-frame-in-node-webkit-r190_t121647
B
12
S
3
G
3
Posts: 206
Reputation: 2,404

Post » Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:03 pm

@Kan, @spacedoubt,

If the package.json is correct then this probably has nothing to do with c2. Which version of nw are you using? r190 installer uses 0.11.1 - but you can easily revert to 0.10.5 (much better IMO) by following this guide

update-guide-fix-jank-in-r190-node-webkit-export_t119896.

Try the old version and see if your problems are fixed. If they are, then it's definitely a bug with the new version of nw - they can only fix it if you report it to them. Does this happen with both x86 and x64 exports? Are you making any requests to the browser object / nw object?

As far as I understand nw wrapper - if c2 sets the boolean correctly then this is probably not a c2 bug....
Learning other engines, but C2 still rocks. Image Image Image Image
B
81
S
22
G
96
Posts: 2,467
Reputation: 58,351

Post » Mon Dec 29, 2014 9:06 pm

Reverting to nw 0.10.5 following TiAm's tutorial did the trick. You say I should report the bug with the new version directly to the Node Webkit devs, but will they understand when I'll say I have an issue with Node-webkit-for-Construct-2 ? (who makes the for-Construct-2 versions anyway?)
B
12
S
3
G
3
Posts: 206
Reputation: 2,404

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: urkokan and 10 guests