Node Webkit crash

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Oct 21, 2014 4:35 pm

Since r184 I've a "little" problem about loading a game after exporting it with node webkit.
I export the project, click on the .exe, the usually black window of node webkit appears but after few seconds windows (7 x64) tell me the .exe has stopped working. I thought was a little bug of r184 and waited for r185 but the problem is still there. I'm exporting without png compression and without minifying the script and leaving all the node webkit options at default (single instance, win frame and resizable).

Anyone had the same problem? @Ashley any advice? I didn't filed a bug report 'cause I didn't think it's project-related. (the preview in chrome works flawlessly)
B
12
S
2
Posts: 36
Reputation: 1,949

Post » Tue Oct 21, 2014 4:38 pm

Did you install the dxwebsetup.exe? I think the node webkit exported game needs it.

(Not sure it is related to your problem, just a guess)
Game design is all about decomposing the core of your game so it becomes simple instructions.
B
53
S
22
G
18
Posts: 2,122
Reputation: 17,123

Post » Tue Oct 21, 2014 4:51 pm

yes, directx installed :\
B
12
S
2
Posts: 36
Reputation: 1,949

Post » Tue Oct 21, 2014 10:55 pm

If you use 'on start of layout - show dev tools' (in the node-webkit object) does dev tools appear and are there any console messages?
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,543
Reputation: 195,430

Post » Wed Oct 22, 2014 2:26 pm

@Ashley : no, does not appear anything. black window and after few seconds windows tell me app has stopped working.
a little hint i've just found: turning off webGL, the game starts, so can be a webGL problem?
B
12
S
2
Posts: 36
Reputation: 1,949

Post » Wed Oct 22, 2014 2:28 pm

Are your graphics drivers up to date? Maybe it's a driver problem.
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,543
Reputation: 195,430

Post » Wed Oct 22, 2014 2:31 pm

@Ashley just checked, ati catalyst 14.9 installed. do you advice to install beta driver? it's strange that with the same driver the r183 worked flawlessly :\
B
12
S
2
Posts: 36
Reputation: 1,949

Post » Fri Oct 24, 2014 2:24 pm

@Ashley do you know how to load the project in the old r183?
B
12
S
2
Posts: 36
Reputation: 1,949

Post » Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:37 am

@PePPo

Opening the capx file in a soft like winzip, export all the files (it makes the hierarchy like a saved folder), open the .caproj file in the notepad and modify the line with the tag "<saved-with-version>" to a number that correspond with the previous version you're trying to open the project in.
Save the caproj file and open it in C2 it should work.
B
23
S
6
G
3
Posts: 316
Reputation: 3,461

Post » Mon Oct 27, 2014 3:30 pm

@Lunatrap thanks a lot!
Now, using r183, it works like a charm :) thanks again!
B
12
S
2
Posts: 36
Reputation: 1,949

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests