Node-webkit exe freezing randomly

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Wed Aug 20, 2014 11:05 am

Katala wrote:You're welcome @EddyDingDongs , Sadly this is still an issue.


Yeah tell me about it lol

Until I read your post I was freaking the hell out!!! Becos after 5-years of using a crappy lappy I finally bought a new semi-high-end desktop PC, and on this PC I can run Watch Dogs at 1080p on ULTRA graphics settings, and yet on this same PC my extremely simple C2 game is stuttering as though it was some game from the year 2020 running at 4K resolution!
B
34
S
5
G
1
Posts: 78
Reputation: 3,412

Post » Wed Aug 20, 2014 11:42 am

Having exactly the same issue. Starts freezing after a couple of seconds. I got the latest stable release
B
43
S
12
G
14
Posts: 488
Reputation: 10,570

Post » Wed Aug 20, 2014 2:09 pm

This nodewebkit thing has been going on for some time now. It seams they can't, won't, or don't care about fixing it. The inherent dilemma of third party components.....
If it can be done, someone on the web will show you how to do it!

CDASI Games Mentality Break Splat-a-bug FlapFleet Challenge
B
35
S
13
G
7
Posts: 363
Reputation: 7,283

Post » Thu Aug 21, 2014 2:37 am

Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,202

Post » Sun Aug 24, 2014 11:02 am

Thanks @Katala that worked for me too!
Construct Classic - Examples Kit Dropbox is a pile of trash and if you need my old files PM me! :)
B
127
S
43
G
18
Posts: 2,240
Reputation: 20,592

Post » Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:13 pm

please people... repply to roger... lets get this problem solved, dont stay quiet... adress the issue...

viewtopic.php?f=146&t=113055
B
23
S
6
G
3
Posts: 316
Reputation: 3,461

Post » Thu Sep 04, 2014 2:38 pm

According to the node-webkit issue there is now a fix for this which I've tested and works here (and several other users report it works). I'm going to close this report now, the fix should make its way to a C2 update soon.
Scirra Founder
B
403
S
238
G
89
Posts: 24,653
Reputation: 196,143

Post » Tue Sep 30, 2014 11:09 am

@Ashley did it make it into the new C2? I'm still experiences the exact same freezes as they describe, but in preview too. A few months now already. As my project grows, they are now to a point where I need to export it to Mac so the freezes don't happen.

Reverting to 0.8 for me fixed the nodekit freezing. I had to manually replace it in exporters of C2 folder
B
39
S
6
G
1
Posts: 306
Reputation: 2,948

Post » Tue Sep 30, 2014 12:04 pm

@damjancd - have you tried r182?
Scirra Founder
B
403
S
238
G
89
Posts: 24,653
Reputation: 196,143

Post » Wed Oct 01, 2014 2:48 am

@Ashley Yup, just tried it, still freezes. In Chrome, Opera, Firefox, Net Explorer. It doesn't on Node Webkit though.
It's not a problem since I can force it to run on 0.8 webnodekit. And there it is fine.

Also I'm using Parallels on a Macbook Air 2013. Didn't do this stuff before, now it does.
I hope this helps you guys.
B
39
S
6
G
1
Posts: 306
Reputation: 2,948

PreviousNext

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests