Node webkit = high CPU usage

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Fri Jan 29, 2016 2:00 pm

@Ashley

I tested the game using NW to preview it in debug mode, and I got 63 FPS and 29% average of CPU utilisation. However, my machine reports CPU usage high (232%) and temperature sensor marks 96° C in the same time. When I'm building the app using the Intel XDK, the CPU usage increase very quickly too. I didn't test the android version, but the iOS version causes my iPhone gets too hot and drains its battery too. Not to mention the strange behaviour that had commented before, that only happens when I play in the iPhone. As I said, I read something about VMWare incompatibility with NW, but this doesn't affect anything in the Intel XDK, right? What do you suggest? Give Cocoon a try, only to compare the results or it's unnecessary?

Edited:

The 63 FPS/29% CPU utilisation shows when I check the Profiler tab. If I checked the inspector tab before, the result is other totally different as showing in the screenshots bellow:

Image

Image

Edited2: It's a big issue for me: why this values decrease when I change from inspector tab to profiler tab? If I return after to inspector tab, the values increase again. Any explication for this? Thanks for support me.
B
70
S
13
G
2
Posts: 989
Reputation: 6,914

Post » Tue Feb 02, 2016 10:08 am

@Ashley

Sorry to bother you with this subject again (I know you are too busy), but I really would like to understand why these values change between inspect/profiler tab. I captured two more screenshots today of the same layout just switching the tabs.

It's important do say that it's happened both NW.js & Chrome

Thanks in advance.

Image

Image
B
70
S
13
G
2
Posts: 989
Reputation: 6,914

Post » Tue Feb 02, 2016 12:24 pm

The "inspect" tab has a high CPU overhead, since it tracks a lot of data. It is normal for debuggers to have a high CPU overhead. That is the only reason it changes. If you want to make performance measurements you should be on the Profiler tab anyway.
Scirra Founder
B
378
S
220
G
84
Posts: 23,866
Reputation: 188,025

Post » Tue Feb 02, 2016 1:12 pm

Ashley wrote:The "inspect" tab has a high CPU overhead, since it tracks a lot of data. It is normal for debuggers to have a high CPU overhead. That is the only reason it changes. If you want to make performance measurements you should be on the Profiler tab anyway.



Thank you. I'll take this opportunity to thank you also for this amazing program.
B
70
S
13
G
2
Posts: 989
Reputation: 6,914

Previous

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests