Node-webkit performs poor all of a sudden?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Nov 26, 2014 10:55 pm

@TiAm
I heard that either Construct2 or Node-Webkit breaks if you use an older version of Node-Webkit in the latest Construct2, but I can't test it as I have the latest both.
If a Node-Webkit update rolls out I'll give word if the problem is fixed, as for the problem itself, it's apparently because Chrome v38 which the Node-Webkit is based on has vsync issues and some other problems.
The moderators are corrupt and ban for no reason, especially that condescending neckbeard asshole Kyatric. The forums are filled with fanboys.
Banned User
B
22
S
7
G
1
Posts: 558
Reputation: 2,925

Post » Wed Nov 26, 2014 11:22 pm

@TiAm, here's a link to the old node installer but, as said above, you're limited to no newer than r187.... C2 checks version numbers and prompts you to update if you try with the wrong one.
A big fan of JavaScript.
B
76
S
20
G
74
Posts: 2,255
Reputation: 46,484

Post » Wed Nov 26, 2014 11:31 pm

@Colludium @Nesteris

I got the old exporter working in r190 without issue. Though...I did do the test on a secondary machine that isn't hooked up to the internet.

Anyway, I don't know if there might be hidden glitches, but it appears to work fine. I've got a writeup on how to do it that's about 95% done; it'll be up in the general forum in a few minutes.
Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,202

Post » Fri Nov 28, 2014 10:36 am

Did a reformating of my computer yesterday and got all drivers up to date, and it's first now I truly understand what you folks mean with v-sync issues. HOLY S***. Even the construct 2 editor is incredibly jaggy.

Edit: The editor jagging might be solely due to the GPU driver. People are reporting V-sync issues here as well, even outside of games.
B
35
S
10
Posts: 386
Reputation: 3,265

Post » Fri Nov 28, 2014 10:30 pm

@Tinimations

Posted a guide here on how to restore the older, non-jerky node-webkit to r190 stable. It came out a little wordy...but basically, just replace the new node files with the ones from r184.

viewtopic.php?t=119896
Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,202

Post » Fri Nov 28, 2014 10:57 pm

@TiAm Yeah I saw it. Good work! I will check it out if I need to export a new build before the issues are resolved.
B
35
S
10
Posts: 386
Reputation: 3,265

Previous

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: irina, NN81 and 3 guests