Node-Webkit, Unable to parse json?

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Sun Aug 25, 2013 11:20 pm

Not sure if this should be posted at "How Do I" or here, so bear with me.

Just finished making my game for Ludum Dare 27, when I ran into something rather unfortunate. The contest requires a windows version, and my node-webkit export version keeps messing up.

I get a "Unable to parse Json" error, and the console tells me that there is a require that is undefined.

I was using the last stable version, before updating to the beta in hopes it fixed my issue. No luck. I have also tried exporting both a minified and non-minified version.

There is only a couple of hours left until the deadline, so while looking for an answer I am going to try reinstalling Construct 2. Would really suck to have worked the last 19 hours and not be able to show off my finished game.


Link to .capx file (required!):
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/124549522/ludeaire.capx

Steps to reproduce:
1. Load Game
2. Export as node-webkit


Observed result:
Node-webkit error pops up saying "Unable to parse json."
When looking in the console, the console says there is an uncaught reference error: require undefined.

Expected result:
Node-Webkit to load and begin playing the game

Browsers affected:
Browsers are unaffected

Operating system & service pack:
Windows 7 32bit, 6.1

Construct 2 version:
    r139/r141
B
15
S
1
Posts: 12
Reputation: 1,565

Post » Mon Aug 26, 2013 12:34 am

After about an hour or so teasing apart the .capx, I found the culprit!

Oddly enough, it was the About section on the project tabs. I cleared the project information and my node-webkit export now works!

Huzzah!
B
15
S
1
Posts: 12
Reputation: 1,565

Post » Mon Aug 26, 2013 12:44 am

The quotation marks in the project description were breaking the node-webkit export. I see you got it sorted anyway.
B
55
S
29
G
19
Posts: 1,520
Reputation: 25,650

Post » Mon Aug 26, 2013 3:07 am

Ahh okay I see, that's very good to know, thanks for the tip ramones
B
15
S
1
Posts: 12
Reputation: 1,565

Post » Wed Aug 28, 2013 4:14 pm

Oops, we forgot to handle double quotes properly. Should be fixed in the next build.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,368
Reputation: 193,746


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests