Not Enough Video Memory...256MB card!

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Mon Mar 23, 2009 6:31 am

I've been playing around with my 1st project since doing the 2 recommended Tutorials and I've got into a situation where I can not Preview or run a compiled version of my project.

The error message states that I do not have enough Video Memory for 6.05MB of Textures, 0.00 and Total of 6.05MB. Although I'm using a laptop, it has a Go7600 256MB dedicated GDDR3 memory, and the system has 2GB RAM. :?

I am able to open any editor within the IDE and load multiple .cap files without issue.

I'm running XP Pro SP2, Construct 0.98.9
B
4
G
3
Posts: 22
Reputation: 944

Post » Mon Mar 23, 2009 6:43 am

[size=150:373recte]UPDATE - FIXED[/size:373recte]

My project has ALOT of text fields, grid co-ordinates should the player want to see them, and changing the Applications' Text Rendering from Antialiased to Clear Type seems to have done the trick. :mrgreen:
B
4
G
3
Posts: 22
Reputation: 944

Post » Mon Mar 23, 2009 12:40 pm

Hmm, that's interesting.

I wouldn't have thought that anti-aliasing the text would use up too much memory, even with a lot of text fields.

Maybe the Devs would be interested in hearing about this.

Sponge.
B
2
S
1
G
3
Posts: 105
Reputation: 1,310

Post » Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:24 pm

It is [u:zj1p1hyd]NOT [/u:zj1p1hyd]fixed if antialiased text still consumes abnormal amounts of VRAM. You just used a workaround.
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Mon Mar 23, 2009 4:12 pm

Yeah, this problem should be reported. Can you add a bug report to the tracker with a .cap file?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Tue Mar 24, 2009 10:52 pm

I decided to investigate and test things out before taking the step of reporting a bug, and I have found that today Text Antialiasing, on or off, makes no difference to running a preview/debug instance.

Today removing 45 or so small, about 1.1K each, sprites off the layout makes the difference.

I also note that Construct ties up an additional 200MB of RAM after each Preview/Debug instance, and explorer.exe is tying up 50% CPU after the first Preview/Debug instance. Shutting each of these processes, construct and explorer, is necessary to release the resources.

I think my XP may be screwed and its time for a re-install... :?
B
4
G
3
Posts: 22
Reputation: 944


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests