Not loading entire game in one go possible?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Apr 09, 2014 3:21 pm

@jayderyu

CocoonJS and Ejecta do not support the advanced memory management of JS. However full browsers do, so Crosswalk is a go.


I was actually seeing the same loading delay with our app between CJS and Crosswalk, so I assumed Crosswalk wasn't actually handling layout by layout memory management. Is it working for you? Right now it's the only thing holding me back from releasing an Android version of our app. Thanks!
ImageImageImage
B
38
S
5
G
4
Posts: 79
Reputation: 5,355

Post » Wed Apr 09, 2014 4:39 pm

clrammer wrote:@jayderyu

CocoonJS and Ejecta do not support the advanced memory management of JS. However full browsers do, so Crosswalk is a go.


I was actually seeing the same loading delay with our app between CJS and Crosswalk, so I assumed Crosswalk wasn't actually handling layout by layout memory management. Is it working for you? Right now it's the only thing holding me back from releasing an Android version of our app. Thanks!


I can suggest you to set a (text or spritefont) to the system value renderer, if the result is canvas2d, that would explain It.

(WebGL gives 3 things in C2 games: Faster rendering speed, Effects, and Layout by Layout if Memory management is supported, if your app falls back to canvas2d, then that is the cause I think)

PS: I suggest that since I've seen complains about effects not working too in crosswalks
Game design is all about decomposing the core of your game so it becomes simple instructions.
B
53
S
22
G
18
Posts: 2,122
Reputation: 17,123

Post » Wed Apr 09, 2014 5:32 pm

Thank you for the suggestion Aphrodite. This unfortunately happens before it even gets to our loader layout so my assumption is it's the wrapper. I'll try though! Thanks.
ImageImageImage
B
38
S
5
G
4
Posts: 79
Reputation: 5,355

Post » Sat Apr 12, 2014 6:03 pm

Just to follow up on this, I verified it's using the WebGL renderer. I tried moving assets around to different layouts, and even created a brand new one just for them. I'm not sure what the issue is or how to collect information that can be helpful. Guess I'll just stay tuned as Crosswalk is updated. Also, I tried the new Crosswalk 5 beta build and that one won't get past the loader layout. I'm sure that's just a simple bug that will get worked out soon enough. Wish I understood what the 10ish second black screen was about though!
ImageImageImage
B
38
S
5
G
4
Posts: 79
Reputation: 5,355

Post » Sun Apr 13, 2014 3:33 pm

Does loading image files works in node-webkit? ( WIll it remove the old image from memory too? )
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
92
S
30
G
22
Posts: 1,987
Reputation: 20,178

Previous

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 5 guests