novice question: apply pre-build effect to layer

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Sep 30, 2012 4:37 pm

if i have a layout with 3 different layers. how do i the following: when the user clicks on a button, turn the background layer (a large color image) into grayscale with the pre-built grayscale-effect?

i looked everywhere and i cannot get the effects to "apply" when you click on the button.

can anyone help?
B
141
S
44
G
10
Posts: 135
Reputation: 14,103

Post » Sun Sep 30, 2012 5:05 pm

Example capx

For this example I keep the "state" of the effect in the global variable, and on click on the button, I check this state and execute the actions accordingly.

Works on firefox 15 and Chrome 22.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image

Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
296
S
119
G
96
Posts: 7,332
Reputation: 71,306

Post » Sun Sep 30, 2012 5:27 pm

cool, thanks. i'm downloading version 104 right now to see your project, i had the 103.2 version. thanks for your help. :-)
B
141
S
44
G
10
Posts: 135
Reputation: 14,103

Post » Sun Sep 30, 2012 5:38 pm

kyatric, you're the BEST. just finished downloading 104, ran your project and the solution was so simple, and elegant. is there a FAQ list of "how do i..." topics you (or others like you have) that i can go to before posting here? the tut's section is like searching for a needle in a hay stack. any advice on finding a central-list-of "how to's" for beginners, indeterminate, etc? thanks again, i really appreciate your help.
B
141
S
44
G
10
Posts: 135
Reputation: 14,103

Post » Sun Sep 30, 2012 7:57 pm

There's a link to the FAQ thread in Kyatric's sig. Lots of good examples in there.
B
55
S
29
G
19
Posts: 1,520
Reputation: 25,680

Post » Sun Sep 30, 2012 8:31 pm

oops, i should have paid better attention; just went to the FAQ it is great.
B
141
S
44
G
10
Posts: 135
Reputation: 14,103


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests