NW 64 or 32 bit?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Jun 18, 2015 5:27 pm

i got a fairly large project ready for Steam early access. Ram usage is limited (project shows 90mb, de-facto it can reach peaks of 800 mb more or less).

My question is: are there advantages in exporting in 64 bit if the ram usage will never reach the 4gb cap of 32 bit?
B
66
S
22
G
4
Posts: 360
Reputation: 6,584

Post » Thu Jun 18, 2015 5:36 pm

If you are looking to deploy to Linux, you will have to do a 64bit build. Unlike with windows, a vanilla 64bit linux distro typically cannot run 32bit builds out of the box, they need to basically post-install all the 32bit system libraries, which is undesireable for just one game.

*Edit: I overlooked the "Steam" bit of your posting. It may be less of a problem with steam.
B
79
S
29
G
32
Posts: 482
Reputation: 19,915

Post » Fri Jun 19, 2015 10:57 am

According to Google the 64-bit build of Chromium is in some cases faster more stable. However it doesn't run on 32-bit OSs. So you should probably go with both.
Scirra Founder
B
402
S
238
G
89
Posts: 24,644
Reputation: 196,095

Post » Fri Jun 19, 2015 12:50 pm

Ashley wrote:According to Google the 64-bit build of Chromium is in some cases faster more stable. However it doesn't run on 32-bit OSs. So you should probably go with both.


Thanks, this settles my doubts, i'll go for both then!
B
66
S
22
G
4
Posts: 360
Reputation: 6,584

Post » Fri Jun 19, 2015 8:40 pm

The 64 bit version seems to have higher cpu usage for some reason with my game. I'm on a 64 bit system too. The cpu usage on the win 32bit version averages around 2 for standing around doing nothing, while the 64 bit version hovers around 7.

It still runs fine either way though. I'm not sure why the 64 bit uses more cpu.

I tested this with a node-webkit export. (10.5 I think)
Last edited by DrewMelton on Fri Jun 19, 2015 10:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
83
S
30
G
35
Posts: 340
Reputation: 23,096

Post » Fri Jun 19, 2015 9:50 pm

I too have noticed that 64bit builds use a hair more cpu, though I've never seen as much of a discrepancy as DrewMelton. I have noticed that 64bit builds use more memory than 32bit builds though, which seems kind of ironic. :?

That being said, I have tried newer NW's, but always end up rolling back to 10.5. It's is the smoothest and most stable for me, and everything works that I need...but 10.5 only exports 32 bit. So, that simplifies things. :roll:
Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,202

Post » Sat Jun 20, 2015 3:50 pm

10.5 messes up my game text formatting >.<

Also, with 10.5 there is a rare bug happening with render cells enabled.
B
66
S
22
G
4
Posts: 360
Reputation: 6,584

Post » Sat Jun 20, 2015 3:51 pm

@TiAm, did you try the new NW 13 alpha?
B
66
S
22
G
4
Posts: 360
Reputation: 6,584

Post » Sat Jun 20, 2015 5:31 pm

Actually, I haven't tried 13 yet; last version I tried was 12.

Do you mean actual text, or spritefonts? I never really use text objects; too many issues on too many platforms. ;)
Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,202

Post » Sat Jun 20, 2015 8:41 pm

Actual texts, so i should just move to spritefonts? Omg that's a hell of a work! @Ashley please fix the game texts! :P
B
66
S
22
G
4
Posts: 360
Reputation: 6,584

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests