NW0.13.alpha5 Testing Report **Alpha6 Works!!**

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Nov 25, 2015 9:10 pm

@Silverforce

After r218 + NW.js update, exported game works (no black screen), but the other issues are still there: i can't load any game after i save, both in preview and exported, in preview it lists several IID bugs, while in exported it just freezes looping the ambience sound.

I tried to remove NW.js object and all its references, still nothing.

Also, when i use the refresh action (from Browser object) it pops up a bug in preview.

Lastly, when i right click on an in-game object (only in some situations), it opens a small browser windows with some option like inspect object, refresh etc.

I'll make a more detailed report soon. Really hope to be able to use the new version with my massive project :(
B
65
S
22
G
4
Posts: 358
Reputation: 6,555

Post » Wed Nov 25, 2015 10:05 pm

@Danwood - Does it occured with savegames, LocalStorage or both?
Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

If you play Puyo Puyo games, you can meet me at the Puyo Puyo English Community Discord: https://discord.gg/0k41S8ARwvY2iTIQ
B
103
S
24
G
11
Posts: 696
Reputation: 12,896

Post » Wed Nov 25, 2015 11:08 pm

Danwood wrote:@Silverforce

After r218 + NW.js update, exported game works (no black screen), but the other issues are still there: i can't load any game after i save, both in preview and exported, in preview it lists several IID bugs, while in exported it just freezes looping the ambience sound.

I tried to remove NW.js object and all its references, still nothing.

Also, when i use the refresh action (from Browser object) it pops up a bug in preview.

Lastly, when i right click on an in-game object (only in some situations), it opens a small browser windows with some option like inspect object, refresh etc.

I'll make a more detailed report soon. Really hope to be able to use the new version with my massive project :(


Do you use sound save-state? In the audio plugin there's an option for it. I do not use it.

I also don't do anything fancy with events for save/load. Just load "01" and it does it, changing the layout automatically.

I got my NWJs alpha 6 from the link in the first post.

I've been testing with r218, with NWjs plugin and it works fine. LocalStorage works, save/load works. No right click bugs.

In the export package-win.json I don't have any extra args besides "--in-process-gpu".
B
70
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,757
Reputation: 17,614

Post » Thu Nov 26, 2015 12:51 am

@Silverforce

I somewhat managed to isolate the problem. Basically, whenever i have any action with a condition "On created", for an object that is a Container, when i load the game it shows the error.

I need to do firther testing to make sure it happens with Containers as my first guess, and do it on a new fresh project.

But it must be an issue with the new version, because previous C2/NW worked just fine!

Please help me figure out :mrgreen:

UPDATE1: Actually, it isn't related to NW, because it happens on Chrome as well.

UPDATE2: I can confirm that removing the Container status to the object with the condition "On Created" allows to load the game (other than just disabling the event/condition).

UPDATE3: Another loading bug: Fading-In behaviour, if set on "Activate at Start", kicks in when the game is loaded.

UPDATE4: FIGURED OUT:
The problems are there ONLY if loading the game from another layout: if you load from the SAME layout, the issues don't kick in!
Last edited by Danwood on Thu Nov 26, 2015 1:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
B
65
S
22
G
4
Posts: 358
Reputation: 6,555

Post » Thu Nov 26, 2015 1:59 am

@Danwood

I think I understand the problem here, since On Created is fired for your layout from a load, because its a transition from a different layout, so the objects you have already loaded up fire the event again.

Basically its firing once too many since the original On Created event has run its course already, then you save the game with whatever changes you call in your On Created event.. loading fires it again one more time and there's clashes with the already set changes.

You could fix this by placing your On Created triggers under a global var "IsLoaded=0" or something, basically you want to tell the game to only fire those On Created triggers IF it was not recently loaded state.

I have a similar thing with my game, launching syncs all the data, saves the game, then the layout transitions into space after a second or two. But loading from that state means the player isn't in the port, but end up in space after being in the port for 1-2 seconds, because the save-state takes into account the current event chain, so if there's wait triggers, it will process after a load. Basically you just need to design the save/load to take into account the quirks of the system.

Or do a fully custom file write/read save system. It avoids all of those issues and it will work like a normal layout transition, triggering On Start of Layout again (which save/load does not). Depending on the scope of the game, it may be a solution. Else just work with the system and fix the clashes. :)

Edit: Some more testing with my custom save/load using NWJs file write/read, and it all works 100%. Thanks @Ashley for the prompt update, very much appreciated!
B
70
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,757
Reputation: 17,614

Post » Thu Nov 26, 2015 2:48 am

@Silverforce

I fixed by just telling the game to move and stay for 1 dt in the game layout without loading, and then load the save, instead of loading directly from the main menu layout ;)
B
65
S
22
G
4
Posts: 358
Reputation: 6,555

Post » Thu Nov 26, 2015 5:35 am

One last issue: the small pop-up triggering when right mouse clicking on button objects (yes, yes, i know default button objects are crap and i should make custom ones, but it's a bit late now xD).

Is there any way to disable it? Should i add any args In the export package-win.json to do the trick? (and if yes, how? :P)
B
65
S
22
G
4
Posts: 358
Reputation: 6,555

Post » Thu Nov 26, 2015 5:47 am

@Danwood

Make custom ones. :) Never have those weird issues again.
B
70
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,757
Reputation: 17,614

Post » Thu Nov 26, 2015 11:13 am

@Danwood

Could you still report this as a bug? (even though you found a workaround). It sounds like something a lot of people might run into.
B
73
S
28
G
32
Posts: 480
Reputation: 19,671

Post » Thu Nov 26, 2015 5:12 pm

@Eisenhans

I'm trying to reproduce it in a new project to make a report, but apparently it doesn't kick in, so it's just my project probably, or i'm doing something wrong.
B
65
S
22
G
4
Posts: 358
Reputation: 6,555

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests