NW.js 0.13.0-alpha7 released

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Dec 09, 2015 1:40 pm

Download NW.js 0.13.0-alpha7 for Construct 2 here: https://www.scirra.com/nwjs

This requires r217 or later (currently only beta releases).

Alpha 7 is updated to Chromium 47. It looks like NW.js updates to new stable Chromium versions very quickly now, which is great. Alpha 7 also includes more missing features which are gradually being added back with the alpha releases. The status of supported features are listed by the NW.js developers here: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1fy0-BBZaslqsEhgC0pFZmAloqRUSw3yO0taucskSCj8/edit#gid=0

Let us know if there are any issues with this release. It may also fix some bug reports if the report was simply that a NW.js feature hadn't been ported yet.
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,519
Reputation: 195,351

Post » Wed Dec 09, 2015 2:07 pm

Great stuff.

I'm happy to report (for my game on Steam) that 0.13.0 alpha 7 is excellent. Pretty much all the issues with performance, jank, memory leak are all gone.

There's also a bonus: It's around 20-25% faster than older NW, since the recent Chromium is improved with better JS engine.

Another huge bonus: Improved WebGL compatibility with Intel GPU. We're talking a game changer here. Before, as many would know, Intel HD3000 or 4000 would lag on C2 NW games which uses some WebGL shader/effects. Now it's butter smooth.

Here's the real kicker: Even HD2000, and Intel Express Chipset 4 graphics (we're talking from 2006), runs it butter smooth. Which is crazy good.

However, not all is rosy. Here's the major fail: MAC export will not function for games with a lot of assets. The red bar loading stuck bug is still there.

As for Linux, I don't know, no experience in it to test.

ps. Looking forward to Greenworks for the new next-gen NW! Just need achievements. :p
B
70
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,757
Reputation: 17,616

Post » Wed Dec 09, 2015 2:25 pm

I just closes part of a little job today, and was warming myself up to continue my game. With improved performance on intel gpu it sounds like great news all around!
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
91
S
30
G
22
Posts: 1,985
Reputation: 20,149

Post » Wed Dec 09, 2015 2:39 pm

Great stuff @Ashley

Our game, which is a massive open world, runs better with NW 0.13, and alpha7 is a pinnacle.
B
66
S
22
G
4
Posts: 360
Reputation: 6,584

Post » Wed Dec 09, 2015 2:39 pm

Over the past year Google did a lot of work with the compositor to reduce the fillrate, which I think might explain the improvement on Intel GPUs. I think previously it might have done something like rendered everything to a texture, then copied that to the window, whereas now it can render directly to the window. Still, good to hear the performance is better!
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,519
Reputation: 195,351

Post » Wed Dec 09, 2015 2:41 pm

@silverforce, that's excellent news. Quick question - which greenworks plugin are you using and have you encountered any compatibility problems with the new nw engine? Thanks.
A big fan of JavaScript.
B
76
S
20
G
73
Posts: 2,244
Reputation: 45,962

Post » Wed Dec 09, 2015 2:45 pm

@Silverforce Glad to see the improved performance.

Question about the Mac export red loading bar: is there a work-around or are you just not offering a Mac build? I believe The Last Penelope and Airscape got around it by using Mac exports from NodeWebkit.

I just released a retro-platformer demo (entire 1st level) and had no red loading bar issues on my Mac builds; granted there weren't a ton of assets. I'm just trying to think proactively here as my game will get larger ;)
B
43
S
12
G
1
Posts: 267
Reputation: 3,430

Post » Wed Dec 09, 2015 10:59 pm

@Colludium
I'm not using any greenworks plugin atm since none is available for 0.13 alphas. Steam cards, overlay, cloud don't need plugins. Only achievements do and I hope Ashley will now work on updating greenworks now that we got a good NW to build upon.

@bclikesyou
There is no work around, if you got over ~1000 assets, even the older NW does not work. I tested it recently on 0.10.5 - 0.12 and this alpha.
B
70
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,757
Reputation: 17,616

Post » Thu Dec 10, 2015 2:02 am

Great news.. NW needed a win...

thanks Ashley!
B
100
S
33
G
16
Posts: 1,204
Reputation: 16,865

Post » Thu Dec 10, 2015 2:24 am

@Silverforce Bummed to hear that. How exactly do you know the # of assets a project has? I just spent 10 minutes looking but I feel like I'm missing the obvious answer here...
B
43
S
12
G
1
Posts: 267
Reputation: 3,430

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests