NW.js v0.12.0 (Chromium 41) 5th March, Discussion

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Fri Mar 06, 2015 5:28 am

@TiAm I noticed there seems to be a cliff of sorts, more units than that and it quickly eats up CPU.

I'll have to do an optimization run through a few times, currently I'm very generous with it, all the calculations are done per tick, see what I can move to every 0.1 or more seconds instead.

It's a challenge though, getting efficient & effective AI for mass RTS style combat. Was hoping newer Chromium versions may improve this a bit but I saw no difference in performance between Node 10.5 to now.
B
65
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,749
Reputation: 17,434

Post » Fri Mar 06, 2015 5:59 am

@Silverforce i for one, am very dissapointed with tthis, we live are in 2015, and only single thread cpu usage?

Whenver i see the community seying that c2 can make big games i guess they mean big games with ugly graphics and goombas for AI

my game too has complex AI, and extremely good graphics, but now after learning abou the cpu thing, im very worried. i assumed that the runtime will use full use of the CPU....not so little.

about the NW.js well im going to try it, but i dount is going to work :/
B
23
S
6
G
3
Posts: 316
Reputation: 3,461

Post » Fri Mar 06, 2015 6:18 am

THIS IS HORRIBLE! god, i guess im stuck on NodeWebkit forever

newer and more, does not mean better.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B
23
S
6
G
3
Posts: 316
Reputation: 3,461

Post » Fri Mar 06, 2015 6:28 am

Lunatrap wrote:@Silverforce i for one, am very dissapointed with tthis, we live are in 2015, and only single thread cpu usage?

Whenver i see the community seying that c2 can make big games i guess they mean big games with ugly graphics and goombas for AI

my game too has complex AI, and extremely good graphics, but now after learning abou the cpu thing, im very worried. i assumed that the runtime will use full use of the CPU....not so little.

about the NW.js well im going to try it, but i dount is going to work :/


You will just have to optimize and more optimize. Good luck with it. :)
B
65
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,749
Reputation: 17,434

Post » Fri Mar 06, 2015 6:54 am

Just updated to check it out - no longer can obtain 60 fps; max obtainable is 59. Janks are still in for me.
B
24
S
3
Posts: 462
Reputation: 2,207

Post » Fri Mar 06, 2015 7:38 am

@TiAm
@Lunatrap

I just went through the ship AI to optimize it, moving everything possible (without affecting the fluid nature of combat) under [every 0.1, 0.25 or 0.5 seconds] to calculate instead of prior where it would do it every frame.

The results are amazing. Peaking around 50% thread usage, right at my goal. :D

Image

Ofc if it were multi-thread, one could scale up to enormous fleet battles, entirely Gratuitous! But for now, I am satisfied!

ps. For the topic of NW 12, it start to stutter. I had to revert back to 10.5 for it to be smooth.
pss. It was a messy install of NW over the old version (there's too many to test hehe). I've just uninstall it entirely and put back on the newly released NW 12, it's smooth, no problems.
Last edited by Silverforce on Fri Mar 06, 2015 8:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
B
65
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,749
Reputation: 17,434

Post » Fri Mar 06, 2015 8:32 am

@Silverforce
@ome6a1717

THANKS for your feedback, im glad im not the only one. im on 10.5 too. you can see the results above
B
23
S
6
G
3
Posts: 316
Reputation: 3,461

Post » Fri Mar 06, 2015 8:57 am

Janks per second for me ,but nw12Preview1 is smooth
and two versions are popping
B
33
S
10
G
1
Posts: 78
Reputation: 3,119

Post » Fri Mar 06, 2015 6:17 pm

@Silverforce
Just an idea. You could spread out the processor load further by doing something like this: instead of updating all the enemies every time interval just update half one interval and the other half the next. Or you could spread it further if needed. That would reduce the amount of stalling when looping over a large number of enemies.
B
83
S
27
G
69
Posts: 4,911
Reputation: 48,989

Post » Fri Mar 06, 2015 6:35 pm

@Silverforce

Glad you were able to hit your target. :)

R0J0hound's suggestion sounds like a good one too, maybe for some of your heaviest processes.

I'm never actually dealt with the RTS gametype, but I've read that it's one of the most difficult game designs to implement efficiently. I hope you can enjoy the challenge...;)
Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
43
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,147

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: marktennenhouse and 2 guests