NW.js windows export not working on certain peoples PC's

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Fri Oct 30, 2015 10:13 am

I have the game on steam and have people where the game doesn't run on windows.
I'm a bit stumped because all the wide range of PC's I have tested the game runs fine.

These are the specs of the people who can't run it:

intel i5-4690
radeon r9 390 8gb
2x8gb corsair vengeance 1600
win7 64 bit

win 10 64 bit
12gb ram
AMD R9 380X 4gb ram
Intel I5 3.1ghz

I was wondering if anyone else has run into this problem? And any possible fixes might help.
B
12
S
4
G
1
Posts: 137
Reputation: 1,519

Post » Fri Oct 30, 2015 10:16 am

what kind of issues ? blackscreen? whitescreen? JS error?
Image Image
B
22
S
13
G
135
Posts: 871
Reputation: 70,320

Post » Fri Oct 30, 2015 10:22 am

Ah that is a very good question.

Ok Using their own words:

"Hit play starts says running then stops. ? Tried changing compat. settings no change. Using Win 10 AMD R9 380 4g card."

"I get the loading circle at my mouse for about 5 seconds and nothing happens. I see the .exe running in task manager at processes but not at applications. Longer periods of waiting doesn't change anything.
Cheers"

" it just loads for about 3-4sec and nothing after.
Clicking .exe does exactly the same thing as when using steam to start.
Eternalstep.exe is a 7.7k big process in my taskmanager after starting."
B
12
S
4
G
1
Posts: 137
Reputation: 1,519

Post » Fri Oct 30, 2015 10:26 am

Which version of NWjs ?
32 or 64 bit?
Have they run the Direct X setup ?
B
48
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,097
Reputation: 11,195

Post » Fri Oct 30, 2015 10:30 am

which version of nw.js did you use? and which chromium arg did you use in package.json?
Direct X is installed?
Image Image
B
22
S
13
G
135
Posts: 871
Reputation: 70,320

Post » Fri Oct 30, 2015 10:40 am

As far as I have asked they have done the dx setup and it will be the 64 bit version of the export.

in terms of nw.js I have done nothing more than download the latest nw.js for construct 2 and exported with single instance, window frame and resizable window ticked.

I have not changed nw.js in any other way.
B
12
S
4
G
1
Posts: 137
Reputation: 1,519

Post » Fri Oct 30, 2015 11:04 am

I don't see where they said they already installed the directxsetup in your app folder

http://steamcommunity.com/app/374240/discussions/0/490123832545076842/
Image Image
B
22
S
13
G
135
Posts: 871
Reputation: 70,320

Post » Fri Oct 30, 2015 11:19 am

I have had a few personal messages with someone we sent a non steam build to with the same problem recently. I asked a few other things to test such as installing the dx and sending over both 32/64 bit version of the game but got the same error still.

I've asked those two to double check the installing though because I forgot I had missed them out with the installing the dx.

(Edited to be a bit more legible.)
Last edited by mapmerry on Fri Oct 30, 2015 11:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
B
12
S
4
G
1
Posts: 137
Reputation: 1,519

Post » Fri Oct 30, 2015 11:24 am

Have they all ATI cards ?
Image Image
B
22
S
13
G
135
Posts: 871
Reputation: 70,320

Post » Fri Oct 30, 2015 11:28 am

Yes they are all ATI cards, R9 specifically too.
B
12
S
4
G
1
Posts: 137
Reputation: 1,519

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests