object pairing in and out of families

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Sun Apr 26, 2009 1:30 pm

if one picks BoxA (member of BoxFam) and pairs it with CircleA
one should be able to say
for each paired BoxFam, pick CircleA
or
for each paired BoxFam, pick CircleFam
or
for each paired BoxA, pick CircleFam
etc
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Fri Jun 12, 2009 3:55 am

Yes!

I actually tried one of those thinking that it would work.
B
3
S
2
G
4
Posts: 1,445
Reputation: 4,665

Post » Fri Jun 12, 2009 12:24 pm

Don't Containers already do this?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,508

Post » Fri Jun 12, 2009 12:44 pm

Containers are permanent, quite often we want to change pairs.
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Fri Jun 12, 2009 2:34 pm

use the pairer plugin.
B
25
S
3
G
6
Posts: 1,197
Reputation: 5,620

Post » Fri Jun 12, 2009 2:51 pm

Which lucid is talking about in his post. You see, the pairer plugin isn't polished just yet.
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Sun Sep 06, 2009 6:42 pm

really. well now, it would be nice to get official comment on this. not good to be in the dark, makes users not use it even tho it could work if done a certain way or things are avoided when using it. its what i believe anyway.
B
2
S
2
G
4
Posts: 259
Reputation: 1,968

Post » Sun Sep 06, 2009 8:23 pm

Unless you use a pv or something, how would the pairer know know which object in the family to pick?
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,347
Reputation: 66,749

Post » Sun Sep 06, 2009 10:14 pm

this is a really old post
but
it would pick the paired objects in the family,
red, blue, and green, are all in family color

pair red with hello

for each hello, pick paired color
so it would pick red
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Tue Sep 08, 2009 1:52 pm

I'm not sure if I read this topic right but if you mean containers should be able to work with families then yes, I agree. I can see the challenges to implementing that of course. The code would work differently or break entirely if 1 member of the family didn't have the corresponding contained object.

Edit: would probably be better to just use an ID value like I've been doing.
B
4
G
6
Posts: 32
Reputation: 1,514

Next

Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest