Objects outside the layout

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat Feb 01, 2014 12:09 am

Hello,
I have a question, do not know if here is the right place to ask.

I searched the forum but have not found.

There are 'good practices' for creating layouts? For example, is it really necessary to leave all objects out of the layout(see attached image) in ALL layouts? I think disorganized, is there any way to do it well?



Tnks
B
25
S
4
G
2
Posts: 99
Reputation: 2,498

Post » Sat Feb 01, 2014 12:14 am

My understanding is that that's what margins are for. However, I don't organize my objects because I don't drag/drop from there. I actually check in the list on the project tab.
B
35
S
9
G
3
Posts: 493
Reputation: 4,092

Post » Sat Feb 01, 2014 12:33 am

all objects that I need to create copies (to spawn object) need to even get out of the layout and repeat them in all layouts. Way to go, or am I doing wrong?
B
25
S
4
G
2
Posts: 99
Reputation: 2,498

Post » Sat Feb 01, 2014 12:53 am

I just pull from the project's object list. All the objects are on a layout somewhere in the project (I have a dummy layout for mass-importing of a lot of stuff). I can't think of a reason to have so many objects scattered about your margins.
B
103
S
38
G
19
Posts: 962
Reputation: 17,996

Post » Sat Feb 01, 2014 12:58 am

@moebios, you only need to drag your objects to a single layout, even if you use the object in multiple layouts. The purpose of putting the objects in the layouts at least once (even if you don't need it in the beginning) is so that the C2 game engine knows what the initial values are for the object, i.e. the values in the properties bar.

For organizing, I just group like things together. And, I've put the objects outside of margins and it still works. In a future project, I've been thinking about putting all the objects in a layout that is never shown to the user. That might be the best way to organize the objects and keep them out of your way.
B
20
S
4
G
1
Posts: 185
Reputation: 2,563

Post » Sat Feb 01, 2014 2:45 am

[QUOTE=danialgoodwin] In a future project, I've been thinking about putting all the objects in a layout that is never shown to the user. That might be the best way to organize the objects and keep them out of your way.[/QUOTE]

About two weeks ago I removed all of the stuff I had in the margins of all my layouts and placed them on an inaccessible layout I called "defaults". I recommend it. It helps you keep things clean and organized
B
28
S
3
G
1
Posts: 29
Reputation: 1,698

Post » Sat Feb 01, 2014 5:24 am

Nice tip, thx
B
84
S
22
G
15
Posts: 1,039
Reputation: 15,249

Post » Sat Feb 01, 2014 6:33 am

I do not understand. If I do this, delete all objects and puts them all in a layout that is not used, the objects you create with SPAWN simply do not work.
B
25
S
4
G
2
Posts: 99
Reputation: 2,498

Post » Sat Feb 01, 2014 4:03 pm

[QUOTE=moebios] I do not understand. If I do this, delete all objects and puts them all in a layout that is not used, the objects you create with SPAWN simply do not work.[/QUOTE]

@moebios . Hi! That is because first you need to have or create at least 1 instance of the spawner object in the active layout so that it can spawn the other object. Please try it.

In this CAPX ( https://www.dropbox.com/s/kh6pp15q7smspy0/create%26spawn.capx ) you can appreciate this by first trying to spawn an object pressing "2". It works by first pressing "1" (System>Create Object) and then pressing "2" (Sprite1>Spawn Another Object).REDVWIN2014-02-01 16:13:28
B
18
S
4
G
1
Posts: 25
Reputation: 1,779


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests