Offline loading screen between each layout?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Dec 31, 2015 1:45 pm

It worked beautifully :D Thank you so much @BackendFreak
B
13
S
1
Posts: 96
Reputation: 881

Post » Sat Mar 26, 2016 11:34 pm

Thank you @BackendFreak ! Always wondered to go about doing this :D
Image
B
55
S
28
G
5
Posts: 109
Reputation: 7,780

Post » Sun Mar 27, 2016 4:55 pm

@BackendFreak - Nice method for that.

But I have my own solution for a "mid-game" layout loader:
  • Create a new layout as the loader
  • Create an animated sprite for the loading indicator inside the layout
  • Create a variable for the sprite and name it "load" or anything you think best
  • Create a global text variable and name it "target_layout" or anything else

Then, add these events to the layout's event sheet:

== loader.load < 6000
--- Add fps to loader.load
== loader.load >= 6000
--- Go to layout "target_layout"

Finally, in the event when it should go to the loader and load the desired layout, set the "target_layout" variable to the name of the layout you want to enter, and go to the loader layout.

I hope it could work.
Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

If you play Puyo Puyo games, you can meet me at the Puyo Puyo English Community Discord: https://discord.gg/0k41S8ARwvY2iTIQ
B
103
S
24
G
11
Posts: 696
Reputation: 12,896

Post » Sun Mar 27, 2016 5:06 pm

Hmm. Does it work? It doesn't sound like it should.

First of all your loader layout is in between those you want to switch from/to. So once you jump to the destination layout, engine has to load the destination layout assets anyway.

Also you are checking if the loader.load is 6000 so on the fastest mobile it will take 100 seconds.

The third thing is that you use a global variable. I personally try to avoid polluting global scope as much as I can.

Or I don't understand your point.
ImageImageImage
B
27
S
16
G
73
Posts: 977
Reputation: 41,173

Post » Sun May 15, 2016 3:14 am

@BackendFreak - Sorry for the late reply.

Probably you can change the value from 6000 to, I dunno, 500?
Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

If you play Puyo Puyo games, you can meet me at the Puyo Puyo English Community Discord: https://discord.gg/0k41S8ARwvY2iTIQ
B
103
S
24
G
11
Posts: 696
Reputation: 12,896

Previous

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests