on node-webkit freeze or input lag issue

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Mon Aug 25, 2014 11:15 pm

Just a quick note:

Happy end, thanks to the @Kyatric post , I've been able to convert the project file to C2 163, and the node webkit export runs very smoothly again.

Thanks, you just saved my PAX! : )


EDIT: oh, new page. Let's not forget the last post, very useful tests were posted regarding the freezes!
Last edited by Aurel on Tue Aug 26, 2014 3:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image | @AurelRegard on twitter
B
19
S
6
G
1
Posts: 307
Reputation: 2,500

Post » Tue Aug 26, 2014 3:04 pm

Giganten wrote:Some more testing

Mac OS X 10.7

C2 node-webkit export - Haven't seen any freezing yet
node-webkit "original" - Haven't seen any freezing yet


Mac OS X 10.7 - Fusion (Win7)

C2 node-webkit export - Frequent freezing
node-webkit "original" - Random freezing


Win 8 (Nvidia GT 640)

C2 node-webkit export - Frequent freezing
node-webkit "original" - Random freezing


Win 7 (9600GT)

C2 node-webkit export - Frequent freezing
node-webkit "original" - Random freezing
B
15
S
3
G
3
Posts: 93
Reputation: 1,466

Post » Tue Aug 26, 2014 3:08 pm

Note that NV dropped support for older video cards last year, so it could potentially be a problem with WebGL & outdated driver support.
B
70
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,757
Reputation: 17,614

Post » Tue Aug 26, 2014 3:13 pm

Yeah, I will see if I can get some more people to test with newer cards. Or if someone here will test you can grab all files here https://www.dropbox.com/sh/iyia6jc30cv39pi/AAB1N5sF3jxMntWKDg_0SEm8a/test
B
15
S
3
G
3
Posts: 93
Reputation: 1,466

Post » Wed Aug 27, 2014 12:21 am

Giganten wrote:Yeah, I will see if I can get some more people to test with newer cards. Or if someone here will test you can grab all files here https://www.dropbox.com/sh/iyia6jc30cv39pi/AAB1N5sF3jxMntWKDg_0SEm8a/test


I'll test it for you on my laptop with dual core & intel HD4000, it runs my games fine eventhough the integrated GPU is terrible.

Edit: My anti-virus wont let me open it, says malware detected in your win32.zip :/
B
70
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,757
Reputation: 17,614

Post » Wed Aug 27, 2014 1:07 am

reporting my results...

after about 10 minutes of running, the test of @Giganten frozed for about 10 seconds
here are my specs, the freezes continue :/

phenom x4 965t 3.4ghz
AMD radeon hd 6950 2gbs
8gb of ram
CROSSHAIR V FORMULA mother board
win 8
r178
B
23
S
6
G
3
Posts: 316
Reputation: 3,461

Post » Wed Aug 27, 2014 12:09 pm

@Giganten

Update for you, I open that zip and launched it, and yes, it freezes after about 15 seconds.

i5-3770K
Radeon R290 latest drivers
Win7 Enterprise

It is very strange because I do not have that issue on my two exported games.
B
70
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,757
Reputation: 17,614

Post » Wed Aug 27, 2014 12:28 pm

Thanks.

@rogerwang Do you need more testing or any other files?
B
15
S
3
G
3
Posts: 93
Reputation: 1,466

Post » Thu Aug 28, 2014 12:38 am

@Giganten that example didn't freeze for me on either of my 2 computers?


AMD R9 290
Intel Xeon E3 1230 (an i7 without intel graphics)
16gb ram
Windows 7

Intel HD Graphics 4400
i3-4010U
4gb ram
Windows 8

Is it just certain parts that cause the freezing? Does it happen with every new nodewebkit game on your computers?
B
149
S
75
G
20
Posts: 1,791
Reputation: 22,695

Post » Thu Aug 28, 2014 5:16 am

@alspal how log did you run it?? becuase it takes some time to kick in...
and it needs to be the tested with a exported executable not a preview

this is fatal for my game...it renders my game unplayable...
if this is not fixed then... my game gets canceled...please
B
23
S
6
G
3
Posts: 316
Reputation: 3,461

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: adelwich and 15 guests