Online/Networking?

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Tue Dec 04, 2007 3:27 pm

Hi Camm, HawkNL has very low level socket manipulation, it is in fact more of a winsock wrapper with some additional features like grouping and multithreads that are more game-oriented.

I'm actually implementing some kind of basic protocol to make things transparent for the user. Joining, Leaving and Sending strings to the server is already working and i'm looking forward other basic functions like changing nickname, changing room name, sending colors or object coords and values, all things that can be done using basic string sending and string manipulation but that will make life much easier for all and i think are more in line with the philosophy of a tool like Construct.

Anyway, i think i'll release a Socket Plugin too, it really takes no time to develope and can be very useful for the skilled users.
B
2
G
5
Posts: 14
Reputation: 1,278

Post » Tue Dec 04, 2007 3:50 pm

That sounds awesome. Have you ever seen/heard of/used MOO for MMF2? Thats what im currently using for my MMO, however I'd like to switch over to construct, so this object sounds really interesting.

Sounds like development is going really well and very fast! A bit like contruct itself ;)

I'd like to drop you a mail about this If its ok? So I can get a bit more info etc.
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 448
Reputation: 2,546

Post » Tue Dec 04, 2007 3:58 pm

Sounds like an interesting project Mk, looking forwards to seeing it. Remember if you need any help with the SDK, leave me a message on the Plugins forum!
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,630

Post » Tue Dec 04, 2007 7:10 pm

[quote:7k7ahfq2]That sounds awesome. Have you ever seen/heard of/used MOO for MMF2? Thats what im currently using for my MMO, however I'd like to switch over to construct, so this object sounds really interesting.[/quote:7k7ahfq2]

Yeah, i used to be a MMF user for quite a long time (but i've never really used MMF2), the approach i'm giving to the plugin is quite similar to the MOO objects (like MOOClick or MOOGame).

[quote:7k7ahfq2]I'd like to drop you a mail about this If its ok? So I can get a bit more info etc.[/quote:7k7ahfq2]

Sure, send me a PM or write me down at mk[at]barrysoft.it

[quote:7k7ahfq2]Sounds like an interesting project Mk, looking forwards to seeing it. Remember if you need any help with the SDK, leave me a message on the Plugins forum![/quote:7k7ahfq2]

I think i'll need it sooner or later :P
Thank you for time!
B
2
G
5
Posts: 14
Reputation: 1,278

Post » Tue Dec 04, 2007 8:12 pm

sounds awesome! can't wait for multiplayer capabilities! :D
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 293
Reputation: 2,236

Post » Tue Dec 04, 2007 9:14 pm

[quote="Mk":2xa7fa5e]Functions like Mid, Left, Right, Len, Str appear to be already implemented.[/quote:2xa7fa5e]

Sorry, i mean more like getting certain elements in a string (it looks like its implemented though). For example-

alee,warrior,level1

-set delimiter to ","
-get element 1
---> "alee"

-get element 2
---> "warrior"

Can we do it in construct. I expect we can, i havent really checked it out.
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 448
Reputation: 2,546

Post » Tue Dec 04, 2007 9:32 pm

Yeah you can, with the system expressions NumTokens and GetToken:

NumTokens("a,b,c,d") = 4
NumTokens("a|b|c", "|") = 3

GetToken("a,b,c,d", 2) = "b"
GetToken("one|two|three", 3, "|") = "three"

There's a bug in GetToken which I just noticed and fixed though: GetToken's token number is 0-based, so I've changed it to 1-based for the next build as per the example above. But in your build, it will be 0 based.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,630

Post » Tue Dec 04, 2007 10:08 pm

i think there should be a default number base thingy throughout the entire program; everything should either be 1-based or 0-based if not already.
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 293
Reputation: 2,236

Post » Tue Dec 04, 2007 10:24 pm

Yeah I'm making everything 1-based. There's no reason for anything to be 0-based in a program like Construct. The only reason anything was ever 0 based is because of the math behind memory access in languages like C++ :)

Oh, and that means if you find something working as 0-based, it's a bug. Sometimes I forget, because C++ works in 0 based :)
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,630

Post » Thu Dec 06, 2007 2:47 am

[quote:1ivsz6n8]I'm actually implementing some kind of basic protocol to make things transparent for the user. Joining, Leaving and Sending strings to the server is already working and i'm looking forward other basic functions like changing nickname, changing room name, sending colors or object coords and values, all things that can be done using basic string sending and string manipulation but that will make life much easier for all and i think are more in line with the philosophy of a tool like Construct. [/quote:1ivsz6n8]

This sounds absolutely awesome MK ... Bring it on!
B
2
G
5
Posts: 17
Reputation: 1,284

PreviousNext

Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests