Oops! WebGL is not supported. ???

All closed bug reports are moved here.

Post » Tue Mar 28, 2017 5:03 pm

Hi there,

I tried the link running Version 57.0.2987.110 (64-bit)

and i still get this error.. i'm on a 2011 macbook pro running latest OSX.

I'm really not eager to get into Chrome Beta if I don't have too and since it wasn't something mentioned in any of the C3 info so far, is there something else I need to do to get in?

Thanks,
Caleb
B
59
S
9
G
1
Posts: 939
Reputation: 6,545

Post » Tue Mar 28, 2017 5:23 pm

Hi there, shouldn't be any need to update to Chrome Beta. I've got a few checks for you to run, hopefully we'll be able to get you running.

It sounds like chrome has disabled WebGl for graphics card related reasons.

Can you go to http://webglreport.com/ and let me know what it says.

Then can you run "about this mac" and tell me what version of OSX / macOS it says your running and the Graphics detail if it shows it.
Scirra Employee
B
5
S
2
Posts: 125
Reputation: 873

Post » Tue Mar 28, 2017 5:28 pm

× This browser supports WebGL 1, but it is disabled or unavailable.

Sometimes this is the result of older video drivers being rejected by the browser. Try updating your video drivers if possible.

Also check out Get WebGL, or try installing the latest version of Chrome, or Firefox.

---------

I have a macbook pro from 2011.. This is a mac running OSX not a pc. I'm not aware of updated drivers.

Image

I never disabled webgl.
B
59
S
9
G
1
Posts: 939
Reputation: 6,545

Post » Tue Mar 28, 2017 5:44 pm

It looks like Chrome has your graphics card blacklisted, although they don't go into much detail why.

Some GPUs on Mac can perform poorly with GPU rasterization. Disable all known AMD GPUs other than the R200, R300, and D series, which have been tested.


your device ID is 0x6740, these are the graphics cards they block for that reason:

"0x6741", "0x6740", "0x9488", "0x9583", "0x6720",
"0x6760", "0x68c0", "0x68a1", "0x944a", "0x94c8",
"0x6819", "0x68b8", "0x6920", "0x6938", "0x6640",
"0x9588", "0x6898", "0x9440", "0x6738", "0x6739",
"0x6818", "0x6758", "0x6779", "0x9490", "0x68d9",
"0x683f", "0x683d", "0x6899", "0x6759", "0x68e0",
"0x68d8", "0x68ba", "0x68f9", "0x9501", "0x68a0",
"0x6841", "0x6840", "0x9442", "0x6658", "0x68c8",
"0x68c1"


https://cs.chromium.org/chromium/src/gpu/config/software_rendering_list_json.cc

It might be possible for you to enable webGL, but there's no guarantee it would work or what effect it would have.

Sorry :(
Scirra Employee
B
5
S
2
Posts: 125
Reputation: 873

Post » Tue Mar 28, 2017 5:49 pm

So what is the fix for users who are going through this?
I'm also on a 2011 macbook pro and having the same problem.
Image
B
22
S
5
G
2
Posts: 65
Reputation: 1,724

Post » Tue Mar 28, 2017 5:53 pm

Yea there must be some way to un blacklist a card? fool it somehow? i'm not buying a new computer to run C3. That is insane to think that this requirement is going to screw perfectly good machines from being able to run C3
B
59
S
9
G
1
Posts: 939
Reputation: 6,545

Post » Tue Mar 28, 2017 6:01 pm

fremachuca wrote:So what is the fix for users who are going through this?
I'm also on a 2011 macbook pro and having the same problem.


Find your GPU device ID on "about this mac", if its on the above list chrome has blacklisted your GPU.

If your GPU is blacklisted by chrome there isn't a surefire fix.

You can force chrome to enable webGL, but this may cause crashes / general instability. So it's a little risky.

The flag you want is "Override software rendering list", it's at the top of chrome://flags
Scirra Employee
B
5
S
2
Posts: 125
Reputation: 873

Post » Tue Mar 28, 2017 6:04 pm

So basically what you are saying is that I will have to "hack" my computer to try to get the new version of construct running?
Image
B
22
S
5
G
2
Posts: 65
Reputation: 1,724

Post » Tue Mar 28, 2017 6:06 pm

i was able to get in once i enabled the chrome://flags (just enter this in your chrome address bar). It's the first thing at the very time.. click it so it shows "disabled"

Close chrome and reopen it before going back to C3.

it works and seems to be fine. hopefully the blacklist issue is some kind of edge case thing. We'll see

Thank you for the help!

Sincerely,
Caleb
B
59
S
9
G
1
Posts: 939
Reputation: 6,545

Post » Tue Mar 28, 2017 6:12 pm

Glad to hear it fixed the problem, by the looks of it chrome only disabled it because they didn't have those graphics cards available to test with. So hopefully it will work fine from now on. :)
Scirra Employee
B
5
S
2
Posts: 125
Reputation: 873

Next

Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest