Opening a project in 158.2 that was saved in r159

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat Feb 01, 2014 2:57 pm

I am having some minor frame rate issues with on of my projects. I wanted to go back to r158.2 which isn't the issue. But because I saved the project in r159, it is not letting me open it up in r158.2. Is there a way around this?
Image
MIKE ASCHENBRENNER | RCMADIAX
Twitter/Instagram/Vine: @RCMADIAX
B
35
S
7
G
4
Posts: 186
Reputation: 4,574

Post » Sat Feb 01, 2014 3:09 pm

Careful! This is potentially dangerous.

The .caproj project file is essentially a (human readable) XML file. There is a version tag somewhere near the top, which you can edit.

If you saved as a single file (.capx) you have to extract that first, that can be done with any ZIP-program, it's just a ZIP-container with all the project files in it, including the .caproj

That does not always work though. If there was a breaking change to the file format between the versions, it will blow up and be corrupt.
B
72
S
28
G
32
Posts: 477
Reputation: 19,640

Post » Sat Feb 01, 2014 5:47 pm

Thank you for that information Eisenhans, I've always been very reluctant to upgrade mid project in case the new version broke something, knowing I can roll it back helps!!
There are 10 types of people in the World, those that understand binary and those who don't.
B
7
S
2
Posts: 93
Reputation: 797

Post » Sat Feb 01, 2014 5:56 pm

You should not do this as a "regular" means of operation.
It's a "broken arrow" kind of thing, the possible consequences are ghastly
B
72
S
28
G
32
Posts: 477
Reputation: 19,640


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Lancifer and 9 guests