Optimization Question.

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue May 29, 2012 4:50 am

I recently figured out having too many sprites on screen can be a problem. I wanted to know how would I be able to have a lot of objects on screen.


Would creating the objects in the script help optimize my game? I'm creating a puzzle game and it might have around 25+ moving sprites. It's actually going pretty good I just want to check to see if I can have that many objects on the screen before I dive in the deep end of the pool.

AarongamerX2012-05-29 05:11:00
B
22
S
5
G
3
Posts: 194
Reputation: 5,855

Post » Tue May 29, 2012 5:07 am

Optimisation: don't waste your time.

25 sprites is not much. Desktop browsers can handle up to thousands of objects.
Just dive in the pool, and when your own computer is getting to have hicups/get low, then optimize.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 7,000
Reputation: 57,795

Post » Tue May 29, 2012 5:11 am

Thx kyatric.
B
22
S
5
G
3
Posts: 194
Reputation: 5,855

Post » Tue May 29, 2012 5:25 am

@Kyatric what about 50 objects on 1 screen i don't use scroll screen or anything , but in mobile because in chrome its 60 frames but i haven't try in mobiles yet


also does sine behiavor effect in framerate because 30 objects have sine also what is better sine or doing sprite with frames (the sine is in size so i can make it with frames).
B
48
S
15
G
6
Posts: 795
Reputation: 12,035

Post » Tue May 29, 2012 6:32 am

@zsangerous: I don't know and I don't own mobile devices either.
The best way to answer those question is t do test on said device. Either get one, or ask friends to do the testing for you.

Or simply develop for platforms you have access to (laptop/desktop).

Also be sure to read the blog article linked in my previous post.Kyatric2012-05-29 06:32:53
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 7,000
Reputation: 57,795

Post » Tue May 29, 2012 6:40 am

@Kyatric yes i'v read it, i saw the tiled background is good for me but but the sine doesn't work as normal sprite that why i asked you , also soon ill try it in android i wish its work good.
B
48
S
15
G
6
Posts: 795
Reputation: 12,035

Post » Tue May 29, 2012 1:34 pm

There are no fixed limits: every game, and every device, is different. You just have to test on all the devices you're interested in to be sure the performance is good.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Tue May 29, 2012 6:24 pm

In a rudimentary test I conducted, I got 800 objects on a mobile while still above 30 FPS.
B
90
S
30
G
24
Posts: 3,189
Reputation: 32,400

Post » Wed May 30, 2012 5:50 am

wow 800 objects. Jeesh. I wouldn't dare have that many lol.
B
22
S
5
G
3
Posts: 194
Reputation: 5,855


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Scofano and 18 guests