Optimize World

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Sat Nov 12, 2011 8:41 am

World in my game is very big... How can I optimize it? Because It is a big problem. Some plugins or arrays?
I've heard about Grid Tree but I don't know how I can use it...


PS.To generating world I used array.
B
1
G
1
Posts: 5
Reputation: 653

Post » Sat Nov 12, 2011 10:25 am

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Portal_rendering

Hope you made your 'world' external ;)
Image
B
225
S
27
G
13
Posts: 1,774
Reputation: 18,024

Post » Sat Nov 12, 2011 1:07 pm

I don't understand how to do it... Maybe an example?

Or how can I do rendering distance in Construct Classic?
B
1
G
1
Posts: 5
Reputation: 653

Post » Sat Nov 12, 2011 2:46 pm

Depends, really.

My game, for example, has multiple "rooms" that collectively make one entire level or area, like in Metroid. Each "room outline" or "camera zone" is loaded at the beginning of the layout. Then, whenever my player enters a new room, the entire level is loaded and everything outside of the current room is destroyed.

So yeah. Basically it loads small parts of the level one by one, and destroys what is in other rooms, clearing up thousands of objects.

That's one way to do it atleast..Dunno what to tell you if your world is just one giant open area. Maybe try breaking it up into multiple layouts?

Image
B
225
S
27
G
13
Posts: 1,774
Reputation: 18,024

Post » Sun Nov 13, 2011 5:06 pm

Ok, I understand. Thank for help ;)


PS. I used multiple layouts :Pwrott122011-11-13 17:07:35
B
1
G
1
Posts: 5
Reputation: 653

Post » Sun Nov 13, 2011 5:49 pm

And if you make objects invisible until you get closer to them? Maybe with some scrollxright/left commands? Doesn't mean invisivle, it won't be rendered?
B
24
S
9
G
2
Posts: 294
Reputation: 3,160

Post » Mon Nov 14, 2011 2:25 am

Well, I don't think Construct has a native object deactivation feature (in which objects aren't rendered or their commands processed in certain conditions), but it is possible to make it so that a certain set of events aren't processed until the player is close enough to the object. It's just a bit tedious.
B
8
S
2
G
6
Posts: 44
Reputation: 3,007

Post » Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:16 am

if they are off screen they won't be rendered anyway. so the invisibility won't help, you're better off finding a way to destroy them when they are too far away to matter, and recreate them when they are close again
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests