Orl (early alpha test )

Post your Construct-made creations!

Post » Sun Feb 15, 2009 3:42 pm

Yes, it's working now! :)

I like the new enemies! Especially the big rabbit which is only vulnerable at its head.
But pls give the smaller rabbit a walking/bouncing animation already.

The mushroom as a jump pad is a very nice touch too!

Also I think moving platforms should be jumpthrough. But maybe you like it better when they're not.

And on a last note: I believe the clouds layer behaves a little strangely. The way it scrolls with the player when you're moving left or when you're jumping doesn't feel right.
B
21
S
6
G
10
Posts: 1,024
Reputation: 7,445

Post » Sun Feb 15, 2009 3:49 pm

[quote="PixelRebirth":fbhcvjch]Yes, it's working now! :)

I like the new enemies! Especially the big rabbit which is only vulnerable at its head.
But pls give the smaller rabbit a walking/bouncing animation already.

The mushroom as a jump pad is a very nice touch too!

Also I think moving platforms should be jumpthrough. But maybe you like it better when they're not.

And on a last note: I believe the clouds layer behaves a little strangely. The way it scrolls with the player when you're moving left or when you're jumping doesn't feel right.[/quote:fbhcvjch]

I want to keep small rabits jumping animation silly. Altho thats a bug i recon becouse there is a 1 frame animation for that. got to fix it.

Moving platform can't be jumpthrough yet becous on vertical ones character is falling from them(@ which is another bug, probubly cosed by cons )

With the clouds i dont know realy y is happening like that ^^'
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
71
S
19
G
19
Posts: 1,919
Reputation: 16,910

Post » Sun Feb 15, 2009 3:51 pm

Cool new enemies :). This is shaping up pretty nicely.

A couple of issues... the window is bigger now than on previous versions, yeah? I'm not entirely sure that's necessary. And I now get lag and framedrop on my machine :(. Could be the level size, could be the enemies, not entirely sure... I could mess with the .cap a bit and let you know what's lagging if you're interested.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Sun Feb 15, 2009 3:58 pm

[quote="deadeye":1dfd87oz]Cool new enemies :). This is shaping up pretty nicely.

A couple of issues... the window is bigger now than on previous versions, yeah? I'm not entirely sure that's necessary. And I now get lag and framedrop on my machine :(. Could be the level size, could be the enemies, not entirely sure... I could mess with the .cap a bit and let you know what's lagging if you're interested.[/quote:1dfd87oz]

yea. i noticed around 100fps drop when changing resolution from 800x600 to 1024x768. you can change set up and check by yourself. Altho bigger screen suits game better in my opinion,
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
71
S
19
G
19
Posts: 1,919
Reputation: 16,910

Post » Sun Feb 15, 2009 4:15 pm

Yep, just changing the screen size back to 800x600 improves things dramatically on my end.

Anyway, I've always been a firm believer that 1024x768 is way too big for a windowed game. Sure, a lot of people have big monitors or high-res screens, but not everyone. 1024x768 is fine for fullscreen, but if you're going windowed I wouldn't go any higher than 800x600 or you're going to annoy some people.

And I think the game looks and plays fine at 800x600, the screen size is just about right that way imo. Just my two cents, though, you can do whatever you think is best :)
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Sun Feb 15, 2009 4:22 pm

[quote="deadeye":2aeryiqf]Yep, just changing the screen size back to 800x600 improves things dramatically on my end.

Anyway, I've always been a firm believer that 1024x768 is way too big for a windowed game. Sure, a lot of people have big monitors or high-res screens, but not everyone. 1024x768 is fine for fullscreen, but if you're going windowed I wouldn't go any higher than 800x600 or you're going to annoy some people.

And I think the game looks and plays fine at 800x600, the screen size is just about right that way imo. Just my two cents, though, you can do whatever you think is best :)[/quote:2aeryiqf]

To be complitly clear with you, i`m planing to make a setting up resolution and full screen on/off options. And i will, but thats in the future, and maybe even in next game.
For now on i`ll stick with 800x600 res.

btw@ deadeye: do you rekon that in stead of using sprites 400% bigger than the original sprites i should use original small size sprites and then zoom them in cons 400% times? would that speed up the game?
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
71
S
19
G
19
Posts: 1,919
Reputation: 16,910

Post » Sun Feb 15, 2009 4:26 pm

[quote="megatronx":n6scllrl]btw@ deadeye: do you rekon that in stead of using sprites 400% bigger than the original sprites i should use original small size sprites and then zoom them in cons 400% times? would that speed up the game?[/quote:n6scllrl]

Well, it might but honestly I don't think it would speed things up all that much since the game is still drawing the same amount of pixels on the screen at once. And if you go the zooming route you'll run into a whole host of other issues where you'd have to reorganize your layout or use unbounded scrolling and meh... the way you're doing it now is fine.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Sun Feb 15, 2009 4:41 pm

[quote="deadeye":15y3molj][quote="megatronx":15y3molj]btw@ deadeye: do you rekon that in stead of using sprites 400% bigger than the original sprites i should use original small size sprites and then zoom them in cons 400% times? would that speed up the game?[/quote:15y3molj]

Well, it might but honestly I don't think it would speed things up all that much since the game is still drawing the same amount of pixels on the screen at once. And if you go the zooming route you'll run into a whole host of other issues where you'd have to reorganize your layout or use unbounded scrolling and meh... the way you're doing it now is fine.[/quote:15y3molj]

ok, cool, thanks.

Is there anything you would like me to imporve or add in the game?
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
71
S
19
G
19
Posts: 1,919
Reputation: 16,910

Post » Sun Feb 15, 2009 10:23 pm

[quote="megatronx":32x4r5bg]
ok, cool, thanks.

Is there anything you would like me to imporve or add in the game?[/quote:32x4r5bg]

I actually liked the older version better than the new one, just because it seemed more polished and almost like a complete level. The new enemies are great, I really like that spike-shooting hedgehog, and I also liked the falling and moving platforms, however I found the drop in FPS to be quite annoying. Even after I changed the window-size it still didnt feel as fluid as the older version. I also thought that the old background with the clouds looked better than the new one, primarily I guess because there was more of a pixel feeling over them.

One other problem I had with the new version was that when I was hit by an enemy I just kept on flashing for at least five seconds before it stopped, were as in the old one it was over after maybe a second. I dont know if you changed anything or if it is something else thats messing it up, but flashing for such a long time just annoyed me. To me it was also slightly unclear what I was loosing from a hit, but maybe thats because I played the old version. Or it could be just me.

I would say that you have a good foundation for your game, now you just need to add some more content. More enemies, more levels, more challenges and maybe some power-ups or something would be nice. And try solving the minor issues that people has mentioned because they are important for the first impression.

When I recently didnt know how to improve my game, I sat down and played Super Mario Bros. 3, just to see what made that game great and mine just dull and boring (neither good nor bad). It actually gave me some ideas, so maybe that could be a hint if you want some inspiration about what to add. Just play some games that you like, but think about what you find entertaining in them.

I also have a question; How did you make your sprites 400 % bigger? It would be nice to now, as an alternative solution to a problem in my game.
B
2
G
4
Posts: 16
Reputation: 1,082

Post » Sun Feb 15, 2009 11:31 pm

[quote="demolam":191kvbib][quote="megatronx":191kvbib]
ok, cool, thanks.

Is there anything you would like me to imporve or add in the game?[/quote:191kvbib]

I actually liked the older version better than the new one, just because it seemed more polished and almost like a complete level. The new enemies are great, I really like that spike-shooting hedgehog, and I also liked the falling and moving platforms, however I found the drop in FPS to be quite annoying. Even after I changed the window-size it still didnt feel as fluid as the older version. I also thought that the old background with the clouds looked better than the new one, primarily I guess because there was more of a pixel feeling over them.

One other problem I had with the new version was that when I was hit by an enemy I just kept on flashing for at least five seconds before it stopped, were as in the old one it was over after maybe a second. I dont know if you changed anything or if it is something else thats messing it up, but flashing for such a long time just annoyed me. To me it was also slightly unclear what I was loosing from a hit, but maybe thats because I played the old version. Or it could be just me.

I would say that you have a good foundation for your game, now you just need to add some more content. More enemies, more levels, more challenges and maybe some power-ups or something would be nice. And try solving the minor issues that people has mentioned because they are important for the first impression.

When I recently didnt know how to improve my game, I sat down and played Super Mario Bros. 3, just to see what made that game great and mine just dull and boring (neither good nor bad). It actually gave me some ideas, so maybe that could be a hint if you want some inspiration about what to add. Just play some games that you like, but think about what you find entertaining in them.

I also have a question; How did you make your sprites 400 % bigger? It would be nice to now, as an alternative solution to a problem in my game.[/quote:191kvbib]

Thanks for your exosting comment . funny thing is that when i`m thinking about what i could add in to the game, i think about SMB3 and SMW.
The new version might not look so polished becous i did not wakr on bacground at all. just did it almost plain for tests.

Now answering your question: i zoomd the picture 400% in gfx editor and than print screen it. Then paste, erased bg and saved it as png. hope this will help you a bit.

edit@ i know that some of you might like the current gfx, but i`ve got bored with them by now, so i might make new hi-res drawings, with a diferent character to. But that depends on how i like the concepts i`m currently working on.
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
71
S
19
G
19
Posts: 1,919
Reputation: 16,910

PreviousNext

Return to Your Creations

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests