Out of Memory Error Windows Phone 8.1

0 favourites
  • 12 posts
From the Asset Store
Use this game pack to create your own game, modify the existing game or simply take a look and see how it was made.
  • Is there a work around for this? I doubt it's a bug but something on my end. Seems to work OK in CocoonJS, but I get this on WP8.1

    Saved state to WebStorage (98472 bytes)

    Saved state to WebStorage (98518 bytes)

    SCRIPT14: Unhandled exception at line 59, column 253 in ms-appx://e785df66-607c-4028-a911-b55ef60507b7/c2runtime.js

    0x8007000e - JavaScript runtime error: Not enough storage is available to complete this operation.

    File: c2runtime.js, Line: 59, Column: 253

    WEBGL11005: OUT_OF_MEMORY: texImage2D

    File: c2runtime.js, Line: 59, Column: 352

    WEBGL11098: INVALID_OPERATION: generateMipmap: The texture is a non-power-of-two texture or not mipmap complete

    File: c2runtime.js, Line: 60, Column: 479

    WEBGL11005: OUT_OF_MEMORY: texImage2D

    File: c2runtime.js, Line: 59, Column: 352

    WEBGL11098: INVALID_OPERATION: generateMipmap: The texture is a non-power-of-two texture or not mipmap complete

    File: c2runtime.js, Line: 60, Column: 479

    WEBGL11005: OUT_OF_MEMORY: texImage2D

    File: c2runtime.js, Line: 59, Column: 352

    WEBGL11098: INVALID_OPERATION: generateMipmap: The texture is a non-power-of-two texture or not mipmap complete

    File: c2runtime.js, Line: 60, Column: 479

    WEBGL11005: OUT_OF_MEMORY: texImage2D

    File: c2runtime.js, Line: 59, Column: 352

    WEBGL11098: INVALID_OPERATION: generateMipmap: The texture is a non-power-of-two texture or not mipmap complete

    File: c2runtime.js, Line: 60, Column: 479

    WEBGL11005: OUT_OF_MEMORY: texImage2D

    File: c2runtime.js, Line: 59, Column: 352

    WEBGL11005: OUT_OF_MEMORY: texImage2D

    File: c2runtime.js, Line: 59, Column: 352

    WEBGL11098: INVALID_OPERATION: generateMipmap: The texture is a non-power-of-two texture or not mipmap complete

    File: c2runtime.js, Line: 60, Column: 479

    WEBGL11005: OUT_OF_MEMORY: texImage2D

    File: c2runtime.js, Line: 59, Column: 352

  • Well, it looks like the device is out of memory, so you need to make your project use less memory. What is Construct 2 reporting as the estimated memory usage?

  • Well, it looks like the device is out of memory, so you need to make your project use less memory. What is Construct 2 reporting as the estimated memory usage?

    download 17 Megs, Memory 88. This was testing on the High end emulator too. Not the 512 Meg one. I think the High ends are 1-2 Gigs.

  • Try Construct 3

    Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

    Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • Any ideas how to debug this? How do I determine what is causing this crash?

    Seems to crash when it hits this

    k.getContext("2d").drawImage(this.ja,a,b,c,d,0,0,c,d)

  • Ashley I also ran it through the debug mode. It starts as ~92 megs of images it says and never really deviates from that. Objects hover around 200 max and I keep cpu under 3-5% (i know that doesn't mean much)

    Point is, I don't see any memory leaks, so I'm not sure how I'm running out of memory. Again, on CocoonJS, I don't see this.

  • Quick note, I'm trying out the new Visual Studio 2013 Javascript tools, but I'm having issues with it. The debugger seems to exit before the tool can catch anything, I'm going to try some different settings with the exception handling. Also when I try to collect the heap with VS2013 it just spins and spins forever. Not sure if this is something with the way C2 works once compiled or if VS2013 isn't ready yet.

  • Ashley I did some research and tell me what you think.

    Here are the specs for Windows Phone 8

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library ... 2(v=vs.105).aspx

    Could be looking at a range of 150 to 300 at as a limit.

    I ran the mem profiler all over. C2 Says my game is at 90 megs, Chrome says the same +/-3.

    In VS2013 my profiler says ~90-120m opening, and then when I click the button to change layouts it go way up to 180 and exits. That is with the small phone (512 emulator). With the large phone my game starts at like 120 and pegs 360 when I change a layout.

    I do decent garbage collection, so i have a constant rate of items being created/destroyed so there isn't a run away process.

    My result is this, the new universal app uses a lot more memory than expected from C2. What are our options?

  • Ashley I did some research and tell me what you think.

    Here are the specs for Windows Phone 8

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library ... 2(v=vs.105).aspx

    Could be looking at a range of 150 to 300 at as a limit.

    I ran the mem profiler all over. C2 Says my game is at 90 megs, Chrome says the same +/-3.

    In VS2013 my profiler says ~90-120m opening, and then when I click the button to change layouts it go way up to 180 and exits. That is with the small phone (512 emulator). With the large phone my game starts at like 120 and pegs 360 when I change a layout.

    I do decent garbage collection, so i have a constant rate of items being created/destroyed so there isn't a run away process.

    My result is this, the new universal app uses a lot more memory than expected from C2. What are our options?

    I'm currently running some early tests of my game (+-10 physics obj on screen) for windows phone 8.1 and i might have the same problems.. I thought the universal export would be far better speed-wise than windows phone 8,

    And one question: the VS2013 emulators are exact replica of the phones or they might have differences depending on your desktop , and is there a way to "calibrate" them ? cause I have not actually used a windows phone before and the windows phone 8.1 update is fairly new

  • IE11 is much faster, but I'm talking memory here and not CPU speed.

    VS2013 has bunch of new emulators. They are pretty close to the reference phone sizes.

  • Yes i noticed the same (probably) memory issues that you have that's why i posted here..

    but i added the speed comment cause my game runs faster on IE inside the emulator rather than the actual universal export ( but i have to investigate further the situation )

  • Yes i noticed the same (probably) memory issues that you have that's why i posted here..

    but i added the speed comment cause my game runs faster on IE inside the emulator rather than the actual universal export ( but i have to investigate further the situation )

    I'm trying to make sense of it, but when I ran the memory profiler, it showed that images were retaining 4MB of memory each. And that there were 57K objects present.

    When I run in cocoon, chrome and in C2, it always says 90 megs max and 150 objects. So there is something funky going on with the way the 8.1 Universal template works.

  • firebelly did you find the solution yet?

    I have been working first time one windows phone 8 application and what happens here it crash for no reason right after it get loads. here are some errors i faced today

    SCRIPT12: Unhandled exception at line 319, column 249 in ms-appx://76911a70-3fa8-4ffd-bf9d-83bc2d57874c/c2runtime.js
    
    0x8899000c - JavaScript runtime error: There has been a presentation error that may be recoverable. The caller needs to recreate, rerender the entire frame, and reattempt present.
    File: c2runtime.js, Line: 319, Column: 249
    
    HTML1701: Unable to add dynamic content '<select msallowclip=''><option selected=''></option></select>'. A script attempted to inject dynamic content, or elements previously modified dynamically, that might be unsafe. For example, using the innerHTML property to add script or malformed HTML will generate this exception. Use the toStaticHTML method to filter dynamic content, or explicitly create elements and attributes with a method such as createElement.  For more information, see http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=247104.
    
    SCRIPT14: Unhandled exception at line 146, column 156 in ms-appx://76911a70-3fa8-4ffd-bf9d-83bc2d57874c/c2runtime.js
    
    0x8007000e - JavaScript runtime error: Not enough storage is available to complete this operation.
    File: c2runtime.js, Line: 146, Column: 156
    
    HTML1701: Unable to add dynamic content '<select msallowclip=''><option selected=''></option></select>'. A script attempted to inject dynamic content, or elements previously modified dynamically, that might be unsafe. For example, using the innerHTML property to add script or malformed HTML will generate this exception. Use the toStaticHTML method to filter dynamic content, or explicitly create elements and attributes with a method such as createElement.  For more information, see http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=247104.
    
    [/code:8gj2f23z]
Jump to:
Active Users
There are 1 visitors browsing this topic (0 users and 1 guests)