Overlap

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat Oct 08, 2011 6:09 am

Hello,

I have an inventory system where you can drag and drop objects and even combine them. For simplicity sake, lets consider a simple scenario.

Object1 and object2 on layer1.
InventorySlot1 and InventorySlot2 on layer0.

When I drag object1 and drop it on object2, it should destroy both objects and create an object3.

Here is an attached file. Could someone kindly guide me as to what I am doing wrong?

Thank you!
B
3
G
1
Posts: 4
Reputation: 533

Post » Sat Oct 08, 2011 6:43 am

Looks like it's working perfectly for me. They both get destroyed when I release the red over the blue and it spawns the tennis ball correctly. What's happening for you when you try to do it?
B
20
S
9
G
6
Posts: 607
Reputation: 6,112

Post » Sat Oct 08, 2011 6:57 am

Wow, that is weird. I tried it with multiple browsers (not that it should matter) but nothing happens at all when I release the red ball over the blue one.

Does the overlap have to be pixel perfect?

B
3
G
1
Posts: 4
Reputation: 533

Post » Sat Oct 08, 2011 7:03 am

Hmm... I think I might know what the problem is. If you last updated C2 before Sept 29th, you might have a bug in the overlapping expression. See here:

http://scirra.com/forum/bug-in-first-upload-of-r60_topic44931.html

If you download that file and replace the old one with it, you might find it works now.
B
20
S
9
G
6
Posts: 607
Reputation: 6,112

Post » Sat Oct 08, 2011 7:10 am

It worked! Thanks so much.

You know what's weird? I checked the creation date of my folder and seems like I installed C2 just 80 minutes before that post!
B
3
G
1
Posts: 4
Reputation: 533

Post » Sat Oct 08, 2011 7:12 am

Ha, awesome! I was having the same problem until I stumbled upon that beautiful little fix. Glad to help!
B
20
S
9
G
6
Posts: 607
Reputation: 6,112

Post » Sat Oct 08, 2011 7:26 pm

Since this is a related question, I am not creating a new thread.

All this works fine with 2 different objects, but if I try to do the same with same objects (blue overlapping blue) it does not recognize the overlap?

Do I have to do something different?
B
3
G
1
Posts: 4
Reputation: 533

Post » Tue Oct 18, 2011 9:27 pm

I'll check your project when i get to my home computer, but my advice at the moment is, make them not the same. Doesn't have to be a major difference, a white dot barely visible would make them separate from each other.
B
22
S
9
G
3
Posts: 203
Reputation: 3,647


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests