overlapping opacity values.

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Mar 03, 2017 3:34 pm

If i have say 2 sprite instances set to 50% opacity and they are overlapping, the overlapping part combines the opacity of each so that area looks 100% opacity. Is there a way to prevent this, some blend mode or something?

Thanks.
B
43
S
22
G
20
Posts: 735
Reputation: 11,977

Post » Fri Mar 03, 2017 4:49 pm

I am pretty sure opacity applies to the entire sprite so any edges that overlap would have that same opacity setting.

You could try a mask effect for a smoother blend or you could fade your sprite edges in the editor so they blend closer to what you want.

I fade the edges in my masks using the eraser in the editor set to something like 10 so it leaves just a hint of the sprite color and then decrease that to 1 as you move to the inner edge where the color should be full.
Banned User
B
23
S
6
G
58
Posts: 1,229
Reputation: 34,540

Post » Fri Mar 03, 2017 5:54 pm

Sorry, you missunderstand.

If i make a square sprite and colour it blue and set the objects opacity to 50%, then spawn another one and the two move and overlap, where they overlap each other will appear to be 100% opacity or solid blue, where they arnt overlapping will still appear 50% opacity.

I'm looking for a way so the opacity is maintained at 50% regardless.

Thanks.
B
43
S
22
G
20
Posts: 735
Reputation: 11,977

Post » Fri Mar 03, 2017 5:59 pm

Ethan wrote:Sorry, you missunderstand.

If i make a square sprite and colour it blue and set the objects opacity to 50%, then spawn another one and the two move and overlap, where they overlap each other will appear to be 100% opacity or solid blue, where they arnt overlapping will still appear 50% opacity.

I'm looking for a way so the opacity is maintained at 50% regardless.

Thanks.


I didn't misunderstand.

I offered you a way to feather the edges so they blend and that would reduce the effect you are seeing.
Last edited by lamar on Fri Mar 03, 2017 6:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Banned User
B
23
S
6
G
58
Posts: 1,229
Reputation: 34,540

Post » Fri Mar 03, 2017 6:09 pm

Never mind.


Image

Any one else have any ideas?

Thanks.
B
43
S
22
G
20
Posts: 735
Reputation: 11,977

Post » Fri Mar 03, 2017 6:29 pm

I can post pics to:

Image

Both of those sprites are set to 50% opacity.

Sorry for trying to help you and good luck and have a nice day!
Banned User
B
23
S
6
G
58
Posts: 1,229
Reputation: 34,540

Post » Fri Mar 03, 2017 6:56 pm

Anyone else who actually understands have any ideas?

Thanks.
B
43
S
22
G
20
Posts: 735
Reputation: 11,977

Post » Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:19 pm

get them sprites into their own layer and manipulate opacity from the layer properties, instead of sprite's. oh lord, please dont let me be misunderstood.
B
23
S
11
G
6
Posts: 181
Reputation: 5,003

Post » Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:24 pm

lol. I'll give it a try thanks.
B
43
S
22
G
20
Posts: 735
Reputation: 11,977

Post » Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:29 pm

Image
B
64
S
23
G
7
Posts: 1,482
Reputation: 10,825

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests