painting in construct

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Wed Jul 27, 2016 5:59 am

I want to make a smear effect like they show in this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xvyrzwwU1DE at around 6:10. but I don't know how to make it so it doesn't clear the last frame.


I did this in a html game by just removing the canvas(it did that smearing effect)....but if I try to get rid of the canvas in construct it just goes black(it doesn't do that smearing)....
B
23
S
10
G
6
Posts: 72
Reputation: 4,875

Post » Wed Jul 27, 2016 6:39 am

pillaystation wrote:I want to make a smear effect like they show in this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xvyrzwwU1DE at around 6:10. but I don't know how to make it so it doesn't clear the last frame.


I did this in a html game by just removing the canvas(it did that smearing effect)....but if I try to get rid of the canvas in construct it just goes black(it doesn't do that smearing)....


@pillaystation

You have asked this question in the - now retired - Construct Classic section rather than the Construct 2 section.

Was this intentional?
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
137
S
31
G
87
Posts: 5,557
Reputation: 60,458

Post » Wed Jul 27, 2016 5:11 pm

Yes this was intentional....when I said I used html...this has nothing to do with construct2....I was just giving an example of how I did that smearing effect in a game aside from using the game engine construct(I just used a text editor and html and the smearing effect worked).
B
23
S
10
G
6
Posts: 72
Reputation: 4,875

Post » Wed Jul 27, 2016 5:39 pm

You can't disable clearing without modifying the source code I suppose.

Another idea is to utilize the "grab layout" (or whatever it was called) property of the canvas object. At least as I recall that's the closest feature I can think of. I'm going off memory though.
B
94
S
33
G
118
Posts: 5,396
Reputation: 75,853

Post » Wed Jul 27, 2016 11:54 pm

when I use "grab layout" do I chose before drawing or after drawing?...I can't get it to work using any of the options.Do you have an example? I looked in the forums on this but I still can't understand...
B
23
S
10
G
6
Posts: 72
Reputation: 4,875

Post » Thu Jul 28, 2016 2:56 am

I don't have an example, sorry. That was just an idea. I guess you could paste a layer too.

It's been a while since I've used cc.
B
94
S
33
G
118
Posts: 5,396
Reputation: 75,853

Post » Thu Jul 28, 2016 5:12 am

thanks. I'm curious how I would modify the source code. I have already downloaded it on source forge but I don't know what file to modify...I was thinking it would be in the Runtime folder and I would have to modify on of the CDisplay files to disable clearing but this is a VERY wild guess...I can't read c++ very well...so I wouldn't know.

I haven't done much with layers...after I create another layer...what would I do?
B
23
S
10
G
6
Posts: 72
Reputation: 4,875

Post » Thu Jul 28, 2016 6:24 pm

To modify the source code you'll have to find where it clears. This usually means following out functions in the source. Typically it all starts in main(). This can time consuming to do but you get faster at it. Then to compile it you need Visual Studio 2008, and the directX runtime, but that is usually where people give up. Using a different version of Visual Studio has incompatibilities that would have to be changed.

Back to your original question though you can do it with a canvas and the paste action. Basically every frame paste all the objects you want to draw. There may be features that make it easier but I don't mess with Construct Classic any more so I don't know them.
B
94
S
33
G
118
Posts: 5,396
Reputation: 75,853


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests