Particle image representation doesn't scale

All closed bug reports are moved here.

Post » Thu Mar 30, 2017 2:10 pm

Observed result:
Particle emitter image does not scale to fit the particle box in layout view. Preview will not show the particle according to layout view either. Particle does not rotate also.

Expected result:
Particle image should fit in the Particle BBox in the layout view. Particle should be scaled according to the particle box when previewing. Particle should be rotated.

Steps to reproduce
Create a particle emitter, draw something or load an image.
Return to layout and try scaling the particle box. Image stays 1:1 size always even if you scale the particle emitter box, and be rotated accordingly.

Preview layout and particle is not scaled according to the box for the particle emitter in layout view.
Follow my progress on Twitter
or in this thread Archer Devlog
B
35
S
15
G
17
Posts: 944
Reputation: 12,210

Post » Thu Mar 30, 2017 5:49 pm

In C3 it works identically to C2, so this is working by design. In particular stretching the image to the box size looks ridiculous if the image is small and the box is big, so it's deliberately designed that way.
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
88
Posts: 24,249
Reputation: 192,450

Post » Thu Mar 30, 2017 6:33 pm

But i was using a high res smoke texture. 1000x1000, covered almot the entire layot. At least it could be scaled sccording to the particles setting.
Follow my progress on Twitter
or in this thread Archer Devlog
B
35
S
15
G
17
Posts: 944
Reputation: 12,210

Post » Thu Mar 30, 2017 6:44 pm

Oh right - you want it scaled down, not up?
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
88
Posts: 24,249
Reputation: 192,450

Post » Thu Mar 30, 2017 6:45 pm

How can this be by design? Particle setting for size is 32, and it covers my entire layout? I would say not very good design then ;)

Image
Follow my progress on Twitter
or in this thread Archer Devlog
B
35
S
15
G
17
Posts: 944
Reputation: 12,210

Post » Thu Mar 30, 2017 6:50 pm

Yeah, good example lol. Fixed in r14 to scale it to fit the Particles box.
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
88
Posts: 24,249
Reputation: 192,450

Post » Thu Mar 30, 2017 6:58 pm

Or maybe the particle setting is better so you at least get a visual reference on how big it would render. Since the particle plugin can't stretch sprite or rotate (no initial setting for rotation)
Follow my progress on Twitter
or in this thread Archer Devlog
B
35
S
15
G
17
Posts: 944
Reputation: 12,210


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests