Passcoded Doors

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Mon Sep 29, 2008 4:28 pm

OH ok I thought u meant to use the UID of the computers that probably screwed everything up



Got it its working perfectly thanks alot only one thing tho, where would I put an event to make sure the number is above 999, i have the computers set to random(9999)
B
2
S
1
G
4
Posts: 239
Reputation: 1,778

Post » Mon Sep 29, 2008 6:15 pm

I'm having a little trouble with putting in an editbox so the player could type in the numbers corresponding to the code. I cant make the box invisable and I dont think theres a way to make it so when they press enter it checks the answer.
B
2
S
1
G
4
Posts: 239
Reputation: 1,778

Post » Mon Sep 29, 2008 6:20 pm

[quote="Highimpact":2827rjqy]
Got it its working perfectly thanks alot only one thing tho, where would I put an event to make sure the number is above 999, i have the computers set to random(9999)[/quote:2827rjqy]

You don't need to, basically thats what zeropad does
if its <1000 say like 420
then zeropad would make it 0420 so all it'll mean is the first digit is 0
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 236
Reputation: 2,122

Post » Mon Sep 29, 2008 7:34 pm

:mrgreen: 420 smoke passcodes everyday hehe :mrgreen:
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Mon Sep 29, 2008 7:59 pm

k whatever who cares about weed day, I have an editbox inserted but everytime I enter the right number for the computer it wont destroy the door... man should I upload .cap or something?
B
2
S
1
G
4
Posts: 239
Reputation: 1,778

Post » Mon Sep 29, 2008 8:46 pm

you'll want to test if the editbox = zeropad(computer.value('code'),4)
its probably getting confused with strings and integers etc, adding the zeropad should sort things out.
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 236
Reputation: 2,122

Post » Mon Sep 29, 2008 9:17 pm

Thanks alot dude. Thats all I needed at least for now.
B
2
S
1
G
4
Posts: 239
Reputation: 1,778

Post » Tue Sep 30, 2008 1:33 am

OK another problem heh, sorry to trouble everyone with this. The computers generate a passcode and the containers get the correct values, the problem is that it has to be the exact same order as the 4 digit pass code. Is there a way to way to make it so that you just need the correct numbers?
for example the computer's password is 5698 and the player were to put in the same digits in a different order like 6895. is it possible to make it still work?
B
2
S
1
G
4
Posts: 239
Reputation: 1,778

Post » Tue Sep 30, 2008 1:38 am

You could try making it so that the door code is actually the sum of all the separate numbers added together, and inputting the code just adds the numbers up. Then when the sums match, the door opens. Kind of a cheap way to do it, but it would work. Then they could punch the numbers in in any order they wanted.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Tue Sep 30, 2008 2:01 am

true but in that case couldnt they just punch in 4114 or 3223 and it would come to the same answer? man this is more of a challenge than I thought
B
2
S
1
G
4
Posts: 239
Reputation: 1,778

PreviousNext

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests