Path Movement Behavior

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Thu May 06, 2010 5:48 am

I been look into the behavior and think one feature would make this so much better tthen it is now. That is to have a add/edit path function. this give you the ability to make more the one path in the editer.
it would like the bone behavior add/edit function that lets you make new animations but it will make new path.
B
21
S
4
G
4
Posts: 280
Reputation: 2,934

Post » Thu May 06, 2010 6:37 am

[quote="toralord":m00enflx]I been look into the behavior and think one feature would make this so much better tthen it is now. That is to have a add/edit path function. this give you the ability to make more the one path in the editer.
it would like the bone behavior add/edit function that lets you make new animations but it will make new path.[/quote:m00enflx]

Well you can kind of do that already by using an external file. Then if you don't want to do that you can clear all nodes, and add new nodes via an array. The latter might require an external editor.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,356
Reputation: 66,767

Post » Thu May 06, 2010 9:12 pm

Thanks R0J0hound that looks just like what I'm after. Keep up the great effort with your plug-in. Hope it becomes a permanent feature.
My Games on google play

ImageImage
B
30
S
6
G
4
Posts: 97
Reputation: 3,008

Post » Fri May 07, 2010 3:49 am

[quote="newt":1sa6b11q][quote="toralord":1sa6b11q]I been look into the behavior and think one feature would make this so much better tthen it is now. That is to have a add/edit path function. this give you the ability to make more the one path in the editer.
it would like the bone behavior add/edit function that lets you make new animations but it will make new path.[/quote:1sa6b11q]

Well you can kind of do that already by using an external file. Then if you don't want to do that you can clear all nodes, and add new nodes via an array. The latter might require an external editor.[/quote:1sa6b11q]

That sounds like alot of unneeded work to me.
The add/edit path function would be a lot faster and productive.
What the point of having a Visual edit path that that only makes one path.
It seem like a waste of a great function not to have the ability to make more then one path in the editor.
B
21
S
4
G
4
Posts: 280
Reputation: 2,934

Post » Fri May 07, 2010 4:49 am

Lol changing the behavior sounds like a lot more work to me.

Anyway this method:[url:1w4q871b]http://www.scirra.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=6345[/url:1w4q871b] works, and can be used right now.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,356
Reputation: 66,767

Post » Fri May 07, 2010 6:37 am

[quote="newt":t97zimwv]Lol changing the behavior sounds like a lot more work to me.

Anyway this method:[url:t97zimwv]http://www.scirra.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=6345[/url:t97zimwv] works, and can be used right now.[/quote:t97zimwv]

It is not changing the behavior it just add the ability add a new path in the path editor part of the behavior and name them, calling them up through condition and action. That's why I called it add/edit path.
B
21
S
4
G
4
Posts: 280
Reputation: 2,934

Post » Fri May 07, 2010 7:50 am

But how would you choose paths?
That would require changing a few things to the behavior, and probably bring up backwards compatibility
Don't get me wrong it sounds like a good thing to add. I just don't think its as easy as you make it sound.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,356
Reputation: 66,767

Post » Sat May 08, 2010 8:19 am

[quote="newt":373ez8vw]But how would you choose paths?
That would require changing a few things to the behavior, and probably bring up backwards compatibility
Don't get me wrong it sounds like a good thing to add. I just don't think its as easy as you make it sound.[/quote:373ez8vw]

You're right, It's not easy to add these thing to the behavior but that is not what I am saying at all. My point is that the behavior would be better and more productive if these things were in it at some point. So here is a little more detail about what I would like to see.

when you go to path edit like so.

you would see this

But I would like to see it like this


Then you can call the path you want with a action like
"Set Path" you would have to add the name of the path.

And get more out of it with conditions like this
"Compare Node" you would have to put the number of the Node,
"At Path Start" you would have to add the name of the path,
"At Path END" you would have to add the name of the path.

plus some expressions too but I am to sleepy to write the now.
B
21
S
4
G
4
Posts: 280
Reputation: 2,934

Post » Sat May 08, 2010 4:44 pm

[quote="toralord":d6xuzpyr]
Then you can call the path you want with a action like
"Set Path" you would have to add the name of the path.

And get more out of it with conditions like this
"Compare Node" you would have to put the number of the Node,
"At Path Start" you would have to add the name of the path,
"At Path END" you would have to add the name of the path.

plus some expressions too but I am to sleepy to write the now.[/quote:d6xuzpyr]

Yes, I think it would be great :)
B
2
G
3
Posts: 15
Reputation: 1,207

Post » Sun Jul 25, 2010 4:34 pm

Looks cool. Will this be an official part of Construct on some day?
B
5
S
2
G
8
Posts: 53
Reputation: 3,222

PreviousNext

Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests